Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-16-2011, 03:38 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Fuse Box Location and New Wiring


I recently bought a 100 year old home with what looks like 1950's-60's wiring. (cloth covered)
The fuse box was installed in the basement onto a ceiling joist about 9 feet off the ground and about 15 feet away from where the utility comes into the basement. (logs were actually used for the joists-it's amazing!)

Anyway...I have 60amp service to the entire home and wanted to do some updating myself if I could.

Q:
Is there anything in (Pa.) electrical code for required location of a fuse box? (Does it need to be mounted onto a wall?) and does a licensed electrician have to do this?

and also...can I use NM cable in the basement to replace all of the cloth covered wiring? All that I want to basically do is replace the old switched light fixtures with pull chain ones and add two or three new outlets upstairs.

Thanks in advance!

David1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 05:31 AM   #2
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Fuse Box Location and New Wiring


uh maybe you should start with a basic wiring book. but a panel upgrade is a pro thing.

__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 06:17 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 978
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Fuse Box Location and New Wiring


Check with you local authority regarding electrical work which is allowed/forbidden by homeowners.
jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 06:44 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 3,118
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Fuse Box Location and New Wiring


What they said regarding local code. Some localities allow homeowners broad leeway as a DIY. Of course, you still need inspections and a permit.

New NM is fine to replace older fabric cable. But if there is knob/tube, that usually must be deactivated. You cannot add to K/T wiring. Basic min. anymore is 150A, with 200A better if you have a lot of high power electrical appliances.

EXTREME CAUTION on working with service panels. Nothing is fused from the pole to the main breaker, and the usual POCO feed is 400A+. Can you spell fried???
Just Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.