Fuse Box/Circuit Breaker - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-08-2009, 10:51 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Fuse box/Circuit breaker


I just bought a house about a month ago that's been "gutted" so I have alot of work to put in. Most of the work I've done before, but who ever decided to take from the house took the fuse box/circuit breaker box out. Now I don't know which one the house originally had in, or if it makes a difference. What I need to know is how do I figure out which wire goes where?

Advertisement

Mr.Phillips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2009, 07:13 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 3,118
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Fuse box/Circuit breaker


Is the cable from the meter still there?? The size of that will determine the size of the service panel you can install, or install a new service drop sized for the panel you want to install. As for the wires hanging out. #14 go to 15A breakers, #12 to 20A breakers, etc., one wire per breaker. Don't forget to have all that inspected.

Advertisement

Just Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2009, 08:18 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Fuse box/Circuit breaker


Contact the Power Company, they might be able to tell you the prior service - 100a...200a

Doesn't matter what wasa there before fuse/breaker
What you want now is a breaker box, fuses boxes are rarely installed now
If it is a decent sized house I'd go with a 200a service

Has the meter been pulled...whole house is dead ?
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
circuit breakers , electical wiring , fuse box


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
20 amp GFCI breaker pops when pool pump is turned on. jagrunner Electrical 11 03-19-2010 05:31 PM
A FUSE and BREAKER BOX COMBO? Pioneer Electrical 3 09-29-2009 12:05 AM
Replacing and Moving a Fuse box with a breaker box nightrook Electrical 18 09-24-2009 08:49 PM
Fuse / Breaker Mix Beren Electrical 2 05-26-2007 07:49 PM
HELP!!! Info on changing old fuse box to circuit breaker box BryanR Electrical 2 03-12-2006 05:26 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts