Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-06-2005, 12:15 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 4
Share |
Question

Fuse Box


Hi all,

I'm new here, so go easy on me :p. I'm looking to purchase a home that has a fuse box. Is it a bad thing to have a fuse box as opposed to circuit breakers? :confused:

Meari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2005, 02:06 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,778
Default

Fuse Box


Not necessarily. But....if the electrical system is that old that it is still fuses you would more than likely be well served to have the service upgraded.
Bear in mind, this is not anything that is the responsibility of the seller. It is not a required or madatory upgrade.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2005, 02:41 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 4
Question

Fuse Box


I found out the service is 60 amp. Shouldn't it be around 100 or something? (Can you tell I'm green?? ) Is it expensive to have the service upgraded?



Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey
Not necessarily. But....if the electrical system is that old that it is still fuses you would more than likely be well served to have the service upgraded.
Bear in mind, this is not anything that is the responsibility of the seller. It is not a required or madatory upgrade.
Meari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2005, 04:04 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,675
Default

Fuse Box


Yes. If you upgrade the min. is now 100 amps. But like Petey said. This is something you will have to take care of. I don't think you will be able to have the seller replace.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2005, 12:13 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 4
Default

Fuse Box


I realize this would not be the seller's responsibility. I'm just trying to get an idea of what things should be done and the costs associated.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan
Yes. If you upgrade the min. is now 100 amps. But like Petey said. This is something you will have to take care of. I don't think you will be able to have the seller replace.
Meari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2005, 01:00 PM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,778
Default

Fuse Box


Meari,

The reason we say this is many of these #$%@# home inspectors make it seem like a service upgrade is mandatory, and the seller's responsibility. When most times it is a good idea but not a crucial upgrade.
I personally think it is just one of the ways home inspectors try to justify their existance, since usually they don't seem to notice the critical structural problems hidden in the dark crawl space.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2005, 04:30 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7
Talking

Fuse Box


I'm selling my 60 amp house and the buyer just expressed concern with the elctric being updated. You aren't my buyer, are you? Chance in a million. I came here to ask the same type of questions!

HilleMary is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Glass Fuse Panel box question? pouncerw Electrical 4 10-05-2009 09:01 PM
Can't find fuse... Please help!!! keithstef2005 HVAC 3 01-03-2007 10:21 PM
fuse went BANG davej Electrical 1 01-23-2006 12:37 PM
Partial power on same fuse! joyjam Electrical 5 07-10-2005 10:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.