Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-26-2012, 05:12 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 36
Share |
Default

Furnace wiring


The line to my furnace motor (natural gas) was a mess (from previous owners) so I ran a new line to it.

I ran 14/2 romex straight from the panel (15A breaker) to an emergency shut-off beside the furnance.

What wiring is required from the switch to the furnance motor? Can I run 14/2 romex, or does it need to be some sort of metal conduit?

Thanks!

zubor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 05:37 PM   #2
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,943
Default

Furnace wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by zubor View Post
The line to my furnace motor (natural gas) was a mess (from previous owners) so I ran a new line to it.

I ran 14/2 romex straight from the panel (15A breaker) to an emergency shut-off beside the furnance.

What wiring is required from the switch to the furnance motor? Can I run 14/2 romex, or does it need to be some sort of metal conduit?

Thanks!
You can use any chapter 3 wiring method... they are all acceptable.

stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 10:20 PM   #3
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Furnace wiring


Stickboy .,

While we are on OP's topic I am not too sure if the OP located but I did recalled that there are few states that will required addtional " remote " gas/oil furance shut off switch on stairway to basement or near the scuttle door for crawl space.

If your state do required can you post something related to your state?

To OP please tell us what state you are located this question may help you little more on this one.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 10:21 PM   #4
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,943
Default

Furnace wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
Stickboy .,

While we are on OP's topic I am not too sure if the OP located but I did recalled that there are few states that will required addtional " remote " gas/oil furance shut off switch on stairway to basement or near the scuttle door for crawl space.

If your state do required can you post something related to your state?

To OP please tell us what state you are located this question may help you little more on this one.

Merci,
Marc
That would only be required by an oil fired appliance... local amendments may vary... but generally not required, just a local disconnect
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (08-26-2012)
Old 08-26-2012, 10:22 PM   #5
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Furnace wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
That would only be required by an oil fired appliance... local amendments may vary...
Instering but thanks for giving me the answer.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 10:23 PM   #6
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,943
Default

Furnace wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
Instering but thanks for giving me the answer.

Merci,
Marc
Oil makes a lot of smoke, hence the reason for the disconnect.
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 10:27 PM   #7
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Furnace wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Oil makes a lot of smoke, hence the reason for the disconnect.
Yeah that make sense but GPL ( Propane ) is about the worst due the GPL sink to the lowest spot one spark then Au revoir la maison ( Bye to the house ) I did survive GPL expolisoin twice.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 10:29 PM   #8
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,943
Default

Furnace wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
Yeah that make sense but GPL ( Propane ) is about the worst due the GPL sink to the lowest spot one spark then Au revoir la maison ( Bye to the house ) I did survive GPL expolisoin twice.

Merci,
Marc
Its probably too late at that point. the smoke on the other hand, who wants to enter a space with smoke from floor to ceiling?
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (08-26-2012)
Old 08-26-2012, 10:31 PM   #9
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Furnace wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Its probably too late at that point. the smoke on the other hand, who wants to enter a space with smoke from floor to ceiling?
Ouias ( Yeah ) I know what you mean with that. it the same idea in the garage when someone try to crank up coldblooded diesel engine the result is the same.

Merci,
Marc

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lennox Furnace G27M Series Unreliable operation: pressure switch or else? sheppard1977 HVAC 7 01-14-2013 05:42 PM
Furnace Blower Wiring aboekman HVAC 4 07-18-2012 04:01 AM
Installing a Honeywell RTH2300B thermostat to a gas furnace. Have the standard WYRG wiring. Devan813 Electrical 3 12-25-2011 05:19 PM
Furnace air filtration advice stephen_smith HVAC 7 12-24-2010 02:24 AM
Tie-in of a Coleman electric furnace nilo HVAC 9 01-03-2007 03:45 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.