Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-23-2012, 12:45 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,867
Share |
Default

Furnace powered by generator


Install that Reliance single circuit transfer switch anywhere in the furnace branch circuit between the panel and the furnace. Or you can make your own using a (two gang size) junction box containing one three way switch and one 15 amp 120 volt male receptacle (inlet). An ordinary extension cord is plugged onto the inlet when generator power is needed.

The dark, or common, terminal of the 3 way switch is connected to the load, here, the line going down to the furnace.

Provided that the emergency switch's box has enough room in it, you could tie the lead from the transfer switch box in there.

__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.

Last edited by AllanJ; 11-23-2012 at 01:01 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to AllanJ For This Useful Post:
ralphfr (11-23-2012)
Old 11-23-2012, 12:54 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Nassau County, LI,NY
Posts: 16
Thumbs up

Furnace powered by generator


Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ View Post
Install that Reliance single circuit transfer switch anywhere in the furnace branch circuit between the panel and the furnace. Or you can make your own using a (two gang size) junction box containing one three way switch and one 15 amp 120 volt male receptacle (inlet). An ordinary extension cord is plugged onto the inlet when generator power is needed.
Since I already have the switch I will use it. Thank you for confirming this as a viable location. I appreciate it.

ralphfr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring generator to a dedicated panel? Djohnson6070 Electrical 5 11-11-2011 10:35 PM
HVAC system heat won't run with standby generator running... PTighe Electrical 70 09-14-2009 05:35 PM
240v Welder powered by portable generator? MRJChannahon Electrical 19 03-30-2009 05:19 PM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 01:55 PM
240v Welder powered by portable generator jackgerd Electrical 10 11-06-2008 01:38 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.