Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-19-2011, 05:10 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Furnace fan motor


Why won't the furnace fan motor run with another electrical circuit in the house or from a home generator?


Last edited by DENROB; 11-19-2011 at 05:13 PM.
DENROB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 05:33 PM   #2
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,556
Default

Furnace fan motor


Quote:
Originally Posted by DENROB View Post
Why won't the furnace fan motor run with another electrical circuit in the house or from a home generator?
A new problem since a new circuit was pulled? Does it not run in any call or just heating or in only cool? What's the voltage to the furnace?

And albeit this is an electrical problem you may want to post this down in the hvac section. All hvac techs are electricians by trade as well.

Variable speed furnace or single state? 240 volt or 120?

Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 06:14 PM   #3
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

Furnace fan motor


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
A new problem since a new circuit was pulled? Does it not run in any call or just heating or in only cool? What's the voltage to the furnace?

And albeit this is an electrical problem you may want to post this down in the hvac section. All hvac techs are electricians by trade as well.

Variable speed furnace or single state? 240 volt or 120?
What, you are not psychic? You expect actual info in order to answer?
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 09:24 PM   #4
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,556
Default

Furnace fan motor


Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05 View Post
What, you are not psychic? You expect actual info in order to answer?

No kidding. All you can do is try..
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 09:26 PM   #5
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,200
Default

Furnace fan motor


Assuming the motor is in working order, it could be there is no power going to it. This could be due to an external cause.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 11:35 PM   #6
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,584
Default

Furnace fan motor


Generally speaking, the more electronic the controls are, the better the power needs to be. Most small generators produce lousy power, and won't run electronic controls.

Rob
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2011, 11:06 AM   #7
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,397
Default

Furnace fan motor


It should run if it is getting power. The problem could be the low voltage transformer for the thermostat is on a circuit that is not on the generator.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water Inside/Around American Standard Furnace michrob HVAC 8 12-08-2011 03:51 PM
Furnace Blower Motor bdoehring HVAC 11 06-13-2011 08:58 PM
furnace blower motor 590610jt HVAC 1 05-22-2011 11:02 AM
ICP Furnace Blower Motor SheeB HVAC 8 04-17-2011 12:42 PM
Carrier Furnace Vent Motor Question ajay12 HVAC 1 12-23-2008 10:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.