Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-06-2012, 02:34 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

furnace


the only way i can get voltage to the thermostat (2 wire b & w) is warm up the gas valve with a hair dryer. then the furnace works great.then after it shuts off there is no voltage to thermostat.then warm the valve up again. does this mean a new gas valve or is there something i can do to keep voltage to the thermostat.

jaspe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 09:38 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,369
Default

furnace


Sounds like possibly a milivolt system. There should be a thermocouple in the pilot that produces a few milivolts to run the valve and the stat.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Furnace Model # Feh-015-04 clicking but not turning on? haimei HVAC 1 12-14-2010 05:01 PM
Payne PG9YAB high efficiency 95% furnace water draining problem jchen64 HVAC 9 12-06-2010 06:42 PM
Carrier Infinity 69 Trouble Code 42 bodya1 HVAC 4 12-05-2010 06:43 PM
Problem with Trane gas furnace quovadis HVAC 17 12-22-2008 01:12 PM
Olsen BFL 120 Furnace DaleB HVAC 12 12-19-2008 10:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.