Front Porch Lights - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-16-2008, 03:19 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 25
Question

Front Porch Lights


Hello fellows, how do you guys normally install a front porch light fixture receptacle? The inside is at rouch in stage. There is two different layers of boards on the outside with metal siding. I can't exactly just cut a big hole and mount the box.

It would be ideal to have an adustable box to mount to the 2x4, adjust it so its flush with the extra 2 inches of boards before the metal siding and then install a waterproof housing. I have no idea, so any insight on how to tackle this issue would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Advertisement

matrix733 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2008, 03:30 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Front Porch Lights


Quote:
a front porch light fixture receptacle?
Fixture or a recepticle?

Fixture = light, recep = outlet that you plug something into.

Are you plugging a fixture into the recep??




Quote:
I can't exactly just cut a big hole and mount the box.
Well...you are goinf to have to cut/drill some kind of hole.....right?

Advertisement

220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2008, 03:43 PM   #3
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Front Porch Lights


Here is a list of all types of siding blocks...

http://www.aifittings.com/arliprod6.htm
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2008, 11:04 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Front Porch Lights


get a 4" hole saw at Lowes or HD for $30.00 and drill a hole from the outside where you want your light, then mount your box, then run your wires to it.
hammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2008, 12:18 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Front Porch Lights


its for a fixture..

I know I have to drill a hole but the fixtures I see at HDepot & Lowes have the nails in an ackward position. I might be just looking in the wrong area.

Thanks
matrix733 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2008, 09:33 AM   #6
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,999
Rewards Points: 2,796
Default

Front Porch Lights


The mounting brackets will be adjustable on the fixture box so that the fixture will be oriented correctly.

PS, they are screws, not nails.

Advertisement

Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing new front porch columns puma24boy General DIY Discussions 2 12-03-2007 04:27 PM
stripping paint off my front porch pesphoto Remodeling 5 11-08-2007 07:56 AM
Porch lights with timer or photocell? ciera Electrical 4 10-29-2007 08:35 AM
Front porch wirenut Building & Construction 7 08-27-2007 06:44 AM
Repainting Columns on front porch R Parker Painting 10 04-17-2006 09:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts