Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-25-2013, 08:44 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Thomasville, GA
Posts: 27
Share |
Default

Framing around panel box?


Ok,
I am about to run a few more electrical outlets and lights in my closed in garage before attaching drywall.

The wall the panel box is on, the bottom joist is 2 x 6, so I will be adding extra 2 x 4 braces to the wall to bring the drywall even with the raised floor (hope that makes sense).

I can take pictures if needed. My question is, do I have to bring the panel out to be flush with the drywall, or can I "frame" around the panel (plan on hiding it with a large hinged canvas picture) so it can still be accessed and the front removed?

Would it just be easier to move it forward? How is it held to the studs?

GoldenX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 08:46 AM   #2
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,008
Default

Framing around panel box?


We need pictures.

__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ddawg16 For This Useful Post:
plummen (11-25-2013)
Old 11-25-2013, 08:48 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,210
Default

Framing around panel box?


It would look a whole lot better to move it forward so the cover sits flush against the drywall.
Should just be screwed to the side of the stud.
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 08:49 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Thomasville, GA
Posts: 27
Default

Framing around panel box?


Quote:
Originally Posted by ddawg16 View Post
We need pictures.
Hah, I figured, I will snap a few at lunch!
GoldenX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 08:50 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Thomasville, GA
Posts: 27
Default

Framing around panel box?


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
It would look a whole lot better to move it forward so the cover sits flush against the drywall.
Should just be screwed to the side of the stud.
If that is the case, I may just do that. I just haven't had the cover off yet to see how it is mounted. Just move it up a little and then out as to not disturb any of the wires.

Would probably be a lot less work than framing around it anyways.

Is it required to kill the power before taking the panel cover off, or just best practice?
GoldenX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 09:03 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 772
Default

Framing around panel box?


by code, the face of the panel would need to be flush with the wall.
itsnotrequired is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 09:34 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,210
Default

Framing around panel box?


To just remove the cover leave it on.
When your working inside to remove the screws and remount, be safe and shut off the breaker supplying power to the panel. And check it with a real meter.
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 12:41 PM   #8
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,446
Default

Framing around panel box?


AS long as you can remove the cover to work in the panel and the recess is not large enough to be considered a cabinet then you are fine. A panel can not be inside a cabinet where junk can be piled in front of it. You could even build a door in front of it.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 12:41 PM   #9
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Framing around panel box?


Quote:
Originally Posted by itsnotrequired
by code, the face of the panel would need to be flush with the wall.
Code reference?
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
brric (11-25-2013)
Old 11-25-2013, 01:37 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 772
Default

Framing around panel box?


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Code reference?
110.26(A)(2). the width of the working space is measured from the face of the panel. unless this recessed opening is 30" wide, it won't meet code.

don't get me wrong, a panel set a couple inches back into a wall isn't some type of inherently dangerous setup but it is a still a violation.

312.3 might get you a quarter inch recession, depending on the wall material.
itsnotrequired is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 02:17 PM   #11
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Framing around panel box?


I'll rebut this when I get home.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 02:25 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 772
Default

Framing around panel box?


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
I'll rebut this when I get home.
looking at 110.26, it doesn't explicitly state the width is measured at the face of the panel but it is implied since the depth is measured from there. in any event, 312.3 states it needs to be flush if the wall is combustible or can be set back a quarter inch if not combustible.
itsnotrequired is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 03:56 PM   #13
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Framing around panel box?


I need a little bit to formulate my argument.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 04:57 PM   #14
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,736
Default

Framing around panel box?


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
I need a little bit to formulate my argument.
Is a little bit defined in the code book?
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
k_buz (11-25-2013)
Old 11-25-2013, 05:04 PM   #15
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Framing around panel box?


No, it isn't, and I will have to slowly slunk away in hopes you don't notice me backing out of the discussion. I didn't find what I was expecting to find, so I stand corrected. According to the word of the code, ItsNot is correct.

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
distribution panel amperage rating tom31415926 Electrical 10 08-26-2012 04:09 PM
Sub panel to sub panel feeding tvfd27 Electrical 1 08-21-2012 03:01 PM
Section 310.15(B)(6) vs. 210.4. Don't assume, call your friendly AHJs! Daneel Electrical 3 04-11-2012 07:24 AM
Main Service Panel to 2 breaker panels - I can imagine you all rolling your eyes kalus Electrical 22 03-23-2012 02:09 AM
Garage Sub Panel Questions mscanlon01 Electrical 3 07-20-2011 10:03 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.