FPE StabLok Panel - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-24-2013, 07:56 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 52
Rewards Points: 29
Default

FPE StabLok Panel


Looking at a 40 yr-old house to potentially buy and went straight for the electrical panel. Noticed this little gem of a fireball

Question is...the Stab-Loks I have seen in the past always have a "main" disconnect inside, just like panels of today. This one does not seem to have one. The only verbiage of "main" is right below #7-9 breakers, says "Main For Lights" (sorry for the flash on the camera).

Am I completely missing something? If the offer on the house gets accepted, this will be first thing to change for insurance purposes, so, really a moot point anyway...just curious.
Attached Thumbnails
FPE StabLok Panel-stablok2.jpg  
Attached Images
 

Advertisement

RunningSparky is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 08:11 PM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

FPE StabLok Panel


Split buss panel

Advertisement

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 08:18 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 52
Rewards Points: 29
Default

FPE StabLok Panel


Yep...thanks for the reply. Just did a read about how the split buss was used as a way of cutting costs on the manufacturing process. 1984 NEC changed this rule for new installations.

Thanks again!
RunningSparky is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sub panel to sub panel feeding tvfd27 Electrical 1 08-21-2012 04:01 PM
Section 310.15(B)(6) vs. 210.4. Don't assume, call your friendly AHJs! Daneel Electrical 3 04-11-2012 08:24 AM
Garage Sub Panel Questions mscanlon01 Electrical 3 07-20-2011 11:03 AM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 04:03 PM
turn main panel into a sub panel? tikicarver Electrical 2 01-24-2008 08:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts