Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-12-2012, 07:55 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

four way switch with multiple lights


I would like to add more lights to the circuit lighting my garage approximately 200' from the house. It runs 2/14 form the panel to a three way switch at the basement door. It then travels 3/14 to a four way switch at an upstairs door. It then makes a 3/14 run out to the garage where a three way switch is at the door. The only light is above the door with a 14/2. I would like add a light above each of the two doors at the house.

I ran a 2/14 to both lights from the switch by the basement door. I joined to the black from the lights to the black traveler on the three way switch. The whites went into the bunch. The lights and the two three way switches worked as before but now the four way switch doesn't operate. I undid my additions and the four way worked again as before. Where am I going wrong?

Gman BC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 08:09 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Richfield, MN
Posts: 64
Rewards Points: 0
Default

four way switch with multiple lights


The lights should be hooked to the common of the switch, not the travelers. It should either have a different color screw or be labeled COMMON on the side of the switch.

Sliver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 08:29 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Rewards Points: 0
Default

four way switch with multiple lights


just a couple of 4-way diagrams I had in my files to illustrate that the common terminal of one of the 3-way switches is the point which all lights must get there power from at some point if you want any of the switches to function the light
Attached Thumbnails
four way switch with multiple lights-4-way-switch-wiring-diagram.jpg   four way switch with multiple lights-4-way-2011-20can-20lites-2.jpg  
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 07:43 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,565
Rewards Points: 58
Default

four way switch with multiple lights


You can not have lights at the house and the garage controlled by the same switches without replacing the cable to the garage. You need to bring switched power back from the garage for the new fixtures. The existing 14/3 is one wire short of what is needed.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in a 4-way Switch RickSene Electrical 5 04-09-2013 07:25 PM
wired new lights and now the switch turns off and on all my lights naty0629 Electrical 14 05-18-2012 12:03 PM
Multiple lights with one switch DIY Mark Electrical 1 12-03-2011 11:15 AM
Help with Two Switches & Two Lights simplyphp Electrical 36 11-25-2010 02:47 PM
Wiring Lights and Running Multiple Circuits in Conduit mark_anderson_u Electrical 0 11-02-2010 09:06 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.