Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-05-2010, 04:04 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Foto Cell + Andeli Contactor Installation


Hi, I am trying to replace a Photo Cell and Andeli Contactor from an existing 220 volts circuit which had been working properly. I have installed the new components but nothing happened. One point is that although I had a 220 circuit a 110V Contactor was in there so I have replaced it with a 220V contactor. If I connect the Photo Cell Wires in the same way a noise come up.

What should I do ???

Many thanks !!!

Ricardo Medina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 10:29 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,506
Default

Foto Cell + Andeli Contactor Installation


Ricardo, I have never heard of Andeli. But some contactors have a jumper that can be moved to select voltage. Sounds like you have 120 volts trying to operate a 230 volt coil. Check the jumper position. Can you measure the voltage to be sure?

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 05:19 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 27
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Foto Cell + Andeli Contactor Installation


One point is that although I had a 220 circuit a 110V Contactor was in there so I have replaced it with a 220V contactor. If I connect the Photo Cell Wires in the same way a noise come up.

Something doesnt sound right. You said the circuit is 220v with a 110v contactor. Do you mean the contactor is switched with 110v or supplies 110v? If the old contactor was switched with 110v and is now being switched with 220v that might be your problem.
1982shawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 07:52 PM   #4
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Foto Cell + Andeli Contactor Installation


First thing first.,

What voltage are you running on the photocell??

What voltage are you try to supply the luminaires ??

What colour conductors you have in the contractor box and size of conductor.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Issue with a definite purpose contactor and photo cell. bigmacfann Electrical 43 09-16-2011 03:56 PM
New cell phone trips GFCI Thurman Electrical 4 09-23-2010 09:49 AM
Pern value of 8 inches of open cell foam millertimeny Building & Construction 0 03-23-2010 11:28 AM
Closed Cell Spray Foam with Fiberglass? ddave23 Building & Construction 1 10-28-2009 01:54 PM
closed cell vs open cell foam insulation amonalisa Building & Construction 1 11-06-2008 09:39 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.