Foreman - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-21-2011, 10:20 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

foreman


can i replace a 60 amp pushmatic bridge breaker with a 100 amp breaker to keep lower half of panel from losing power? the 60 amp trips too often.

Advertisement

ramonskilove1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2011, 10:56 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 6,016
Rewards Points: 2,428
Default

foreman


No!
The wire from the 60 amp breaker to the bottom of the panel is only rated for 60 amps.

You need to find out why it is tripping.

Advertisement

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2011, 11:07 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

foreman


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
No!
The wire from the 60 amp breaker to the bottom of the panel is only rated for 60 amps.

You need to find out why it is tripping.



I am lost, i changed the 60 with a 60 and it seemed ok but same problem with all the breakers, they seem to take turns tripping
ramonskilove1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2011, 11:24 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 6,016
Rewards Points: 2,428
Default

foreman


Do the breakers on the top of the panel trip, or is it the bottom breakers?
Does the new 60 amp breaker trip?
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2011, 11:27 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

foreman


mainly the 60 that feeds the bottom but that top ones trip as well.
ramonskilove1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2011, 11:33 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

foreman


it is just so nuts, i dont know what to do.
ramonskilove1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 07:04 AM   #7
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,947
Rewards Points: 2,246
Default

foreman


You need to call an electrician and have him check things out and see what is tripping and why.

What does "foreman" mean??
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 09:52 AM   #8
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,635
Rewards Points: 4,066
Blog Entries: 5
Default

foreman


You need to measure the amps to see if it is over current and breaker is doing its job. It is very likely the panel is over loaded and need to upgraded.

Advertisement

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
hpp58 (06-22-2011)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
All heavy DIYers have done something dumb. Let's fess up. BJLower Safety 134 03-20-2014 01:31 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts