Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-09-2012, 08:47 PM   #31
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Share |
Default

Foreclosure: All circuit breakers were removed


I see the meter is lit up. That means you may have some hot wires in that panel somewhere. If wires are connected to the load side of the meter then those main breaker wires are hot....proceed with caution or preferably with an electrician.

__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 08:53 PM   #32
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Foreclosure: All circuit breakers were removed


Whatever you do at the main breaker box KEEP your hand out the middle 4 large conductor that is unfused and it will be hot all the time when the meter is still engerized.

I will seriously suggest just get the electrician come in and deal with it there is alot of serious issue allready show up.

But few case the meter itself it may allready have boots on so the load side may be dead but I will not take any chance so again just get the electrician come in and they will know excatally what to do with it.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 09:03 PM   #33
Member
 
seansy59's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NJ, US
Posts: 292
Default

Foreclosure: All circuit breakers were removed


I suggest before you even take the cover off and even touch a wire, you have the POCO come over and shut off the power going into the box.
seansy59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 09:31 PM   #34
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Foreclosure: All circuit breakers were removed


Looks like they took the whole bus bar from the sub panel inside would be better to just buy a new panel and take the bus bar out and put it in there. I find it strange that they took the time to use wire nuts on all the wires.

That panel LC2040L1125CU is still being sold for about $75.00. And you could have close to $1000 in breakers if AFCI breakers are required.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 11:03 PM   #35
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 116
Default

Foreclosure: All circuit breakers were removed


Want to thank everyone for their insight that you provided, lot of great information that helped me out.

Long story short it took months to close on the property and I finally got keys about 2 weeks ago. Number one item was to get power back up and running. I ended up buying both of the boxes new, subpanel for the bus bar and main panel for the main breaker. Turns out the main breaker alone would have cost more then the new box that includes it.

Fitting the breakers was pretty straightforward minus a few more difficult ones like a 2-20amp 1 pole, 1-50amp 2 pole breaker in one. I started fitting a bunch of single pole 15 or 20amp breakers but realized I was running out of room quickly. Made them tandems and they all fit perfectly.

Once all was complete I called the local electric company to turn power back, nothing was working. Called them again and they were adament that meter is showing power going to it. They ended up sending a tech and the meter had been locked/blocked. Once that was corrected both panels were functioning perfectly.

The 3 way and 4 way switches were more difficult to figure out. Almost everything is connected and working minus one 4 way switch circuit.

(oh and all those wire nuts were done by the bank, PO could have done more damage but luckily I only had to extend one wire that was cut)
amdspitfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 05:35 PM   #36
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,443
Default

Foreclosure: All circuit breakers were removed


Thanks for the follow up !

dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bull Dog Pushmatic Electrical panel and Circuit Breakers highdeserthome Electrical 34 01-27-2012 01:06 PM
Arc fault circuit breakers bkvanbek Electrical 6 06-10-2011 11:39 AM
Why the wide price range in receptacles and switches? Evil Scotsman Electrical 11 11-22-2010 11:43 PM
Sub-Panel or Tandem Circuit Breakers? dgoldsmith Electrical 2 03-08-2008 12:34 PM
Circuit Breakers Unregistered Electrical 4 09-13-2004 08:49 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.