Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-23-2011, 05:01 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 12
Share |
Default

forced air furnace fan setting won't work


Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Bound View Post
On the second picture, there are screw terminals with smaller wires connected....I see a white and red wire.....any others connected to those screws?
Nope. Thanks in advance for everyone's help on this.

turkish777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 05:04 PM   #17
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

forced air furnace fan setting won't work


With that connection, you have heat only, and fan on heat rise available. The fan switch cannot work as wired.
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 05:09 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 12
Default

forced air furnace fan setting won't work


Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Bound View Post
With that connection, you have heat only, and fan on heat rise available. The fan switch cannot work as wired.
Will the fan work if I connect the white wire to G on the thermostat?
turkish777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 05:13 PM   #19
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

forced air furnace fan setting won't work


Unfortunately no. You need another wire to connect the terminals between the control board and the stat...if the furnace is wired for it. Can you see behind the terminal screws where (if anywhere) the wires go from the g terminal?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 05:18 PM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 12
Default

forced air furnace fan setting won't work


Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Bound View Post
Unfortunately no. You need another wire to connect the terminals between the control board and the stat...if the furnace is wired for it. Can you see behind the terminal screws where (if anywhere) the wires go from the g terminal?
I'm not following. Can I see the back of the thermostat where the G terminal is?
turkish777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 05:20 PM   #21
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

forced air furnace fan setting won't work


NO...on the furnace....can you see behind the terminals on the board?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 05:23 PM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 12
Default

forced air furnace fan setting won't work


Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Bound View Post
NO...on the furnace....can you see behind the terminals on the board?
Not really. It is screwed on.
turkish777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 05:26 PM   #23
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

forced air furnace fan setting won't work


The only way to check it is to run a third wire to the thermostat....to the g terminal on the furnace to the g terminal on the stat.....there IS a g terminal on the furnace, right?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 05:46 PM   #24
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 12
Default

forced air furnace fan setting won't work


Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Bound View Post
The only way to check it is to run a third wire to the thermostat....to the g terminal on the furnace to the g terminal on the stat.....there IS a g terminal on the furnace, right?
Yes there is.
turkish777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 05:48 PM   #25
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

forced air furnace fan setting won't work


There are 2 terminals on the furnace board that we can't see what they are. One should be 'G', the other probably is 'C'. (See picture)

Earlier you said your stat had a red and a blue wire hooked up, but the furnace has red and white hooked up. Has the cable been spliced? Maybe outside the furnace a couple feet up?
Attached Thumbnails
forced air furnace fan setting won't work-furn.jpg  
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should

Last edited by SD515; 07-23-2011 at 05:52 PM.
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 06:03 PM   #26
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,613
Default

forced air furnace fan setting won't work


go right to the fan motor wiring diagram on the motor fram see how many speed wires are showing heat is always LO or MED LO if you have HI speed wire that would be thru the stat from a relay in the furnace for cooling....the heat fan is controlled by that heat relay board....the stat has no control calling for fan your not wired.if you find a black HI speed wire and the white neutral coming from the motor i'll tell you how to control it with an add on relay that the stat can control
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 06:07 PM   #27
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,361
Default

forced air furnace fan setting won't work


Connect your spare wire to the "G" terminal on both the thermostat AND the furnace circuit board.

Then fan switch should now work on the thermostat.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 06:32 PM   #28
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

forced air furnace fan setting won't work


I'm thinking someone might have spliced the stat cable. OP said red and blue connected at the stat, but the photo posted clearly shows red and white connected to the board.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 06:48 PM   #29
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

forced air furnace fan setting won't work


Quote:
Originally Posted by SD515 View Post
I'm thinking someone might have spliced the stat cable. OP said red and blue connected at the stat, but the photo posted clearly shows red and white connected to the board.
I suspect you are correct. The OP or somebody needs to wring out the wiring before wiring the thermostat properly is going to take place. I wonder if the wire can be pulled and replaced with the proper t-stat wire. It would be a good start.
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 06:53 PM   #30
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 12
Default

forced air furnace fan setting won't work


Quote:
Originally Posted by SD515 View Post
There are 2 terminals on the furnace board that we can't see what they are. One should be 'G', the other probably is 'C'. (See picture)

Earlier you said your stat had a red and a blue wire hooked up, but the furnace has red and white hooked up. Has the cable been spliced? Maybe outside the furnace a couple feet up?
Maybe, I am not sure.

turkish777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Goodman GMP100-3 Forced air furnace sylvia HVAC 23 12-18-2011 09:49 AM
Furnace Model # Feh-015-04 clicking but not turning on? haimei HVAC 1 12-14-2010 05:01 PM
Forced Hot Air Oil Furnace Issues? Power Vent? marcomjl HVAC 1 11-25-2010 09:48 AM
GOODMAN 100-3 Forced Air Furnace problem lindatbird HVAC 4 11-10-2010 08:55 PM
Adding a stand alone wood furnace to existing duct work vtboy51 HVAC 1 04-01-2009 02:19 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.