Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-25-2009, 08:42 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Fluro lights with motion sensor ?


HI,
I helped friend to changes ballast using new electronic ones for F30T12 bulbs, he has motion sensor in his batthrom for this lights and now when it's OFF bulbs still has some leftover small lights , and it's stays at least for 15min, it's full electronic sensor (at least doesn't have a click) when ON.

When you use breaker to turn all power to OFF it's gone, so I assume it caused by this sensor.

ANybody can advice how Fluro Lights works with this sensor ? doesn't it make sence, because looks like his ballasts (old magnetic) lasted 2 years max.


Thanks all
Dai

dainova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2009, 09:06 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,554
Rewards Points: 36
Default

Fluro lights with motion sensor ?


You need a motion sensor that uses a neutral and is rated for fluorescents.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2009, 11:09 PM   #3
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Fluro lights with motion sensor ?


Most magatic ballast is not much issue but the electronic ballast that is the issue there and you will need to change the motion sensor to have netural conductor in there and have to be rated to work with flourscent luminaires.

Before you jump on this check the switch conferation if you have power at the switch box or not the quickest way to tell is the numbers of conductor in the switch box if you only have black et white then you got switch loop if power there then it will make it easier to get this hook up and function properly.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 08:03 AM   #4
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Fluro lights with motion sensor ?


I tried using a motion-sensor light switch with a fluorescent light in my house. The switch was rated for fluorescents, but it led to some serious buzzing from the light, and a standard light switch didn't buzz. I didn't really need the motion sensor there, I was just doing it to try one out...so I never bothered looking into it.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding Motion Sensor to coach lights sstinman Electrical 2 09-22-2009 09:44 PM
Wireless Motion Sensor Lights -Reviews?? KGP Electrical 3 08-09-2009 12:56 PM
Wiring up an outside set of motion sensing lights airdaleairdale Electrical 1 06-11-2009 08:35 PM
"Throbbing" lights from motion sensor bigjuan Electrical 2 10-20-2008 03:44 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.