Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-28-2007, 02:46 PM   #1
"B"
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

fluorescent light wiring


hello all

i have a question
i'm starting up my fish house again and i want to keep most of the electrics outside as its a wet room
(last time i had less but bigger tanks so it wasn't as big an issue)

i want to locate all the control gear outside the room and just have the arcadia leads with the waterproof encaps inside connected to the tubes.
those are designed for use with aquariums
this is what i mean http://www.aquatics-online.co.uk/add...tp=52&rets=205

i was hoping to wire those up using this type of control gear http://www.tlc-direct.co.uk/Main_Ind...l_1/index.html

ideally i was hoping to operate several tubes with one of those
if i could wire 4 into the 120 watt unit that would be fantastic
i have 8 tubes that need connecting and each one is 36" 30 watt

i really hope someone can help me out with a wiring diagram
i know i need a starter to ignite the gas in the tubes but not sure if i could get a fitting for one?
so what i need is a good selfexplanatory wiring diagram and maybe a few good link on where to buy stuff needed
i want all the electrics savely away in a small cupboard, ideally something in the size of a small bathroom cabinet
my fish house or room is half of my garage so nothing will be outside in the weather as most fish houses or sheds are located at the bottom of the garden


thanx for your help and advise


"B" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2007, 09:54 PM   #2
Union Electrician
 
goose134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 615
Rewards Points: 500
Default

fluorescent light wiring


B, I'm in the US, but I think what you want is what is called a remote ballast. Actually you could use the ballasts pictured in the link, but simply mount them in the area you'd like to control them from. It takes a bit more wiring and work but it can be done. I worked at a radio station that didn't want the hum from the lights in the broadcast booths. All of the ballasts for the lights were in the hall closet in an enormous metal tub. I would not recommend wiring a bunch of tubes off of one ballast (flourescent choke) unless it is rated for such an application. Some fixtures have this capability, but with T-5 lamps, you are more than likely at two lamps per ballast. Again, this is US thinking, so if you need more help, just say so. As for wiring diagrams, all you need to do is extend the wires of the ballast to the lamp location and voila! Keep us posted.

goose134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old wiring - Bathroom Light Psully24 Electrical 11 12-01-2007 12:20 AM
bathroom light bar wiring kenny11876 Electrical 6 03-05-2007 06:25 PM
light fixture wiring jasjks Electrical 4 11-29-2006 02:51 PM
wiring a light Unregistered Electrical 6 01-08-2005 09:19 PM
wiring a new light ugmr10 Electrical 2 12-30-2003 10:59 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.