Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-13-2012, 05:15 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

fluorescent ballast change question


I removed the old ballast:

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/18856784/ballast-old.JPG

and replaced with a new ballast:

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/18856784/ballast-new.JPG

I put them both in, merely by connecting red to red, blue to blue, white to white, black to black.

Then I noted that the wiring scheme was different as above, and I had an extra wire.

I rewired one according to new scheme.

So now I have one wired according to new scheme, and one wired according to the old scheme.

Is it really neccessary to rewire the old one to the new scheme? Both are working.

The one that is wired to the old scheme, just has the extra wire capped off.

Both boxes run two t12 96 inch fluoresent bulbs.


Last edited by herf; 04-13-2012 at 05:17 PM.
herf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 07:40 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,595
Rewards Points: 2,150
Default

fluorescent ballast change question


it looks like the new ballast will run two tubes !
Why dont you remove the other old ballast,
And use the new one to run both tubes.

Otherwise there will be one blue wire not used on the new ballast,
*Note the warning on the new ballast !*
The unused wire needs to be insulated to 600v .

dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 09:17 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

fluorescent ballast change question


Both new ballasts are both running two 96 inch fluorescent bulbs already.

I have replaced two old ballasts that both ran two bulbs, with two new ballasts, that each run two bulbs.

The difference is one new ballast running two bulbs is retired according to its diagram, its wires are all used.


The other new ballast was just literally "dropped" in to the original wiring scheme, red to red, blue wire to blue, white wire to white wire, black wire to black wire, leaving one blue wire left over.

The two wiring schemes are different. Yet the dropped in one, lights the lights, and appears to work fine...... Do i need to rewire it according to its diagram?
herf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 10:15 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,595
Rewards Points: 2,150
Default

fluorescent ballast change question


Does the old one have a ballast that is different to the new one ?
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 10:23 PM   #5
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,866
Rewards Points: 2,526
Blog Entries: 4
Default

fluorescent ballast change question


You need to wire the ballast according to the drawing on the ballast. Those ballasts required different wiring schemes. One even requires a special tombstone with a cutout in it.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 12:33 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

fluorescent ballast change question


the old ballast is the one pictured first.

the new ballast is the one pictured second.

what is a tombstone, and what is a cutout?

I see the old one is the one that requires cutout on the diagram.

thanks for help,

herf
herf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 04:37 AM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

fluorescent ballast change question


Use the new wiring diagram. While the new ballast may work for a time, more likely than not it will fail prematurely if not connected correctly....
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 07:38 AM   #8
Pure Genius
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dayton OH
Posts: 223
Rewards Points: 150
Default

fluorescent ballast change question


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky
Use the new wiring diagram. While the new ballast may work for a time, more likely than not it will fail prematurely if not connected correctly....
I knew a maintenance guy who just matched colors. He smoked 25 brand new ballasts. They did work for a day though.
Dierte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 08:07 AM   #9
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,699
Rewards Points: 2,196
Default

fluorescent ballast change question


The tombstone is the end that holds the bulbs and where the electrical contacts meet the bulb.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Fluorescent Light / NM wire ggcamp Electrical 2 04-01-2012 09:25 PM
wiring a ballast from t12 to t8 family Electrical 3 05-17-2011 08:57 AM
Home Addition's foundation question? chai3341 Building & Construction 13 01-01-2009 11:46 PM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 08:19 AM
please help w/ selection of bad ballast Mack V Electrical 8 10-17-2006 09:54 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.