Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-03-2013, 09:17 AM   #1
Member
 
jburd964's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 218
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Fluke Meter


What would cause odd AC voltage, 13, 24, 6, readings on Fluke meter? I have cleared it and still getting them.

__________________
Gun control isn't about guns, IT'S ABOUT CONTROL.
jburd964 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 09:21 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,987
Rewards Points: 3,090
Default

Fluke Meter


Going to have to share what and were your testing.
Just sounds like what's called phantom voltage.

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 09:27 AM   #3
Member
 
jburd964's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 218
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Fluke Meter


Sorry. 120 volt outlets. Is phantom voltage a actual voltage are nothing at all?
__________________
Gun control isn't about guns, IT'S ABOUT CONTROL.
jburd964 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 09:50 AM   #4
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,114
Rewards Points: 2,138
Default

Fluke Meter


Sounds like a fluke voltage (sorry couldn't resist). Probably induced phantom voltage. Connect a 60 watt light bulb across the measurement point and see if the voltage goes away.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 09:52 AM   #5
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,487
Rewards Points: 2,316
Default

Fluke Meter


Are you getting 120Vac measurements at all?

If not....I bet you have a broken meter lead....

Short the leads together...if it does not go to 0 Vac (or real close), one of your leads is broken.
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 10:13 AM   #6
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,557
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

Fluke Meter


I second the votes for phantom voltage on a dead receptacle or a broken/loose test lead. If not that, then a low battery in the meter - although Flukes don't usually have a problem with false readings on low battery.
__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 10:16 AM   #7
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,894
Rewards Points: 2,044
Default

Fluke Meter


Needs new battery.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 06:38 PM   #8
Member
 
jburd964's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 218
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Fluke Meter


Thanks, I do need to change out leads, that I have and have new battery. Also will try the light bulb. Thanks
__________________
Gun control isn't about guns, IT'S ABOUT CONTROL.
jburd964 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 12:45 AM   #9
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,487
Rewards Points: 2,316
Default

Fluke Meter


I go through a set of leads about once a year.....

I buy the real Fluke leads...typically off Amazon. They are made with a much softer rubber and are easier to use. The ones I like have removable tips....lets me swap in the alligator tips....sort of like having a third hand.

Also....if you have the yellow protective 'glove' for the meter, see if you can get the magnet.....they make a strap that hooks into the back of the case and it has a magnet on the end....strong enough to hold the meter when stuck to the top of a Hoffman box. Love that magnet...

__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ddawg16 For This Useful Post:
jburd964 (01-04-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Comparable meter to the Fluke 336 viper Electrical 5 02-08-2012 12:35 AM
Meter Main problem. right-sided meter? acerunner Electrical 6 07-23-2011 12:41 PM
Fluke is starting to become the meter ... hvaclover Electrical 2 11-26-2010 01:38 PM
Never buy a Fluke meter hvaclover Tools 37 03-10-2010 04:52 PM
Water meter aggravations KE2KB Plumbing 8 03-21-2009 06:53 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.