Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-02-2008, 01:07 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

flouresant lights


I have 4ft flouresent lights in both bathrooms I had to change everything
in the one bath my question is why do I have to change everything transfomer and bulbs.I should not have to change the transformer every time or do I? Thanks in advance for the help!!

joseph44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 03:25 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,205
Rewards Points: 506
Default

flouresant lights


No, you should not have to change the transformer (ballast) every time you change bulbs. Could it be possible though, that the wrong bulbs were installed, thus causing the transformer to burn out?
Make sure the bulb wattage is not higher than what the transformer is rated for.

__________________

KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 01:08 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

flouresant lights


Thanks KE2KB never dawned on me to look at that I WILL FROM NOW ON! You have a great wk/nd!!
joseph44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 04:53 PM   #4
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,626
Rewards Points: 1,046
Default

flouresant lights


Make sure the lamps are the right type too.

If the ballast is designed for T12 lamps and T8's are installed, it'll burn up the ballast in a couple of hours.

You'll need to look on the ballast label and make sure the lamp type and wattage are listed.

Rob
micromind is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Finding underground electric wire for driveway lights. mitch21131 Electrical 25 09-24-2012 09:52 AM
undercabinet puck lights ccalmonte Electrical 7 08-05-2008 09:25 PM
Adding can lights to an existing circuit TexasEd Electrical 1 06-17-2008 08:23 PM
Added can lights, tripping GFI tandyt Electrical 3 05-18-2008 10:55 AM
Pot lights in a drop ceiling Howdy Electrical 3 03-14-2008 09:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.