Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-27-2008, 12:59 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 35
Share |
Default

Flourecent light bulb question


Ok, maybe a little odd question but you guys all seem very helpful so I will give it a shot.

I am lookingto replace my exterior lighting on my house....3 units that attach to the house and are under the eaves of the house.....and a pole light. We just got a new roof and soffit/facia and they need replaced.

I was leaning towards the new "energy saver" flourescent units....but it seems like their is a $35-$50 PER LIGHT difference between the fixture that accepts the two-pin twist type flourescent bulbs versus the standard screw in incandecent bulbs.

Could I just use the standard type fixture but use the screw-in type flourecent bulbs?

Is there a downside?

I cant understand why the price hike? And that doesnt even include the flourescent lamps! LOL

Any ideas?

shadango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2008, 02:25 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 149
Default

Flourecent light bulb question


You sure can replace them with the screw in flourescents. In fact I have replaced all of mine. If they are motion lights it may not work. Dusk to Dawn is fine. Check the box. As you may know incandecent bulbs are being outlawed in the furture.

BillyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2008, 12:22 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 35
Default

Flourecent light bulb question


Willcould weather or dampness affect them?

Why is there such a premium being charged for the "energy star" versions? They use a diifferent type of bulb, like I said.......is the base type the only real difference?
shadango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2008, 06:20 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 149
Default

Flourecent light bulb question


I don't know about the cost difference but yes some lights are affected by the cold. You need to research that or buy one and try it in your refrig. I had some that never warmed up and got bright below 35 degrees. Good luck.
BillyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2008, 06:38 AM   #5
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,534
Default

Flourecent light bulb question


The fixtures for the two pin bulbs contains a ballast/transformer to power the fluorescent light. The "standard" fixture does not. The newer CF bulbs have an electronic ballast built in.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2008, 10:29 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 35
Default

Flourecent light bulb question


Thanks folks

I just went ahead and ordered the standard light fixtures....spending an extra $300-400 just to get the built in flo units seemed dumb so I am going to just use the screw in type flo bulbs...if they flicker in the cold weather i will just swap them for standard incand. bulbs until the warm weather comes back.
shadango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2008, 02:52 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

Flourecent light bulb question


Do not be concerned. Flickering will not be an issue with CFL's. It can and is with regular tube fluorescents. The only issue you will face is time to get to full brightness. I also have them all through my house and they light up pretty fast. I have one on the front porch fixture. It takes about 1.5 minutes to reach full brightness in cold weather.
The long bulbs flicker because they are filled with a gas just like the CFL's, but they have much more area inside the bulb, and that takes a while to get juiced up in cold weather. The CFL's have very little area to activate.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2008, 08:28 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 13
Default

Flourecent light bulb question


Consider climate. If it's cold at times fluorescents sometimes are problematic. They eventually come on but unless they are high output it may take some time.

Stavop is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
undercabinet light install question xenon robin hood Electrical 2 02-26-2008 05:25 PM
light install question jscholl411 Electrical 5 11-30-2007 11:50 AM
can light question trptman Electrical 13 04-19-2007 05:11 PM
Switching from light socket to plug - stupid question CGofMP Electrical 5 03-25-2005 09:48 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.