Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-25-2011, 12:54 AM   #121
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,297
Rewards Points: 6
Share |
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


Quote:
It think it was gas. he had a gas water heater, too.

He also had gas heaters. (and propane heaters as auxilleries
OK, well...ummm...out in the REST of the world we have electric stoves available to us....and they DO draw (the INSANE amount of) 50 amps...and they draw it off of a 200 amp main service.....and yes it's 240 volts, needless to say.

jproffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2011, 12:55 AM   #122
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,297
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


Quote:
Reason we have class time in an actual class room is to take knowledge tests and practice basics so when we went to our workbase sights we could actually do the work from day one without much issues at all for the people we worked for/with.

I **sighhhhhhhhhhhhh** understood what you were saying.....just.....well nothin'
jproffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2011, 12:56 AM   #123
Facilities Maintenance
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sedro-Woolley WA
Posts: 280
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
I would suggest that until you get some more experience, that you stay in the classroom more vs. being on the Internet, along with studying those books, including the NEC.
UPC, NEC, Building Code, and UMC are a part of the curriculum. Because we have to know how high from the floor outlets have to be, where switches can go, where a duct can be placed, DWV systems, we have to know how to assemble plumbing systems, etc.

We get a fair amount of working experience doing the work before we move on to dedicated training.
BigGuy01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2011, 12:57 AM   #124
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,297
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


Quote:
I would suggest that until you get some more experience, that you stay in the classroom more vs. being on the Internet, along with studying those books, including the NEC.
Motion seconded, and carried (<--- that's as close as I could find to a gavel strike, lol)
jproffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2011, 12:58 AM   #125
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,297
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


Quote:
Because we have to know how high from the floor outlets have to be

Wha-wha-wha-what???????

How high would that be??
jproffer is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jproffer For This Useful Post:
plummen (12-25-2011)
Old 12-25-2011, 12:59 AM   #126
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jproffer View Post
OK, well...ummm...out in the REST of the world we have electric stoves available to us....and they DO draw (the INSANE amount of) 50 amps...and they draw it off of a 200 amp main service.....and yes it's 240 volts, needless to say.
Well in France we do also have 240 volt range or stove or hob ( whatever you call it ) that do draw 40 amp easy and also to really compound it we can reconferage it to triphase to run on 415 volts without issue.

Note it is normal to see alot of place which if it is on monophase supply useally limited to either 80 or 160 amp supply.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2011, 01:00 AM   #127
Facilities Maintenance
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sedro-Woolley WA
Posts: 280
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jproffer View Post
Wha-wha-wha-what???????

How high would that be??
12'' from the ground. and then the bottom of a light switch box has to be no less than 43 1/2 inches from the ground.

EDIT

And anytime you run wiring through a stud, it cannot be within 1/3 of the outer edge of the stud, and cannot run a wire through a notch in a stud unless you put a 1/8'' thick metal plate on the stud to protect the wiring from any nails, screws, etc.

Last edited by BigGuy01; 12-25-2011 at 01:03 AM.
BigGuy01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2011, 01:01 AM   #128
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,297
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
Well in France we do also have 240 volt range or stove or hob ( whatever you call it ) that do draw 40 amp easy and also to really compound it we can reconferage it to triphase to run on 415 volts without issue.

Note it is normal to see alot of place which if it is on monophase supply useally limited to either 80 or 160 amp supply.

Merci,
Marc
My post was aimed at Mr. Washington, not you

I know zero about euro-electric....I know as much about that as Bi.....oh nevermind
jproffer is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jproffer For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (12-25-2011)
Old 12-25-2011, 01:03 AM   #129
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,297
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


Quote:
12'' from the ground.
Says who??

The NEC?....I'll give ya one cheat on this one, the answer to this one is NO....so who says?
jproffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2011, 01:03 AM   #130
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,169
Rewards Points: 94
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jproffer View Post
Wha-wha-wha-what???????

How high would that be??
Probably does not know the trick of standing his hammer up, with the head on the ground, then placing the bottom of the box at where the top of the handle ends up. Comes up right every time. Then again they probably do not know that there is really no right or wrong height in outlets.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2011, 01:04 AM   #131
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,297
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


Quote:
Then again they probably do not know that there is really no right or wrong height in outlets.
SHHHHH, you're giving him the answers
jproffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2011, 01:04 AM   #132
Facilities Maintenance
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sedro-Woolley WA
Posts: 280
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jproffer View Post
says who??

The nec?....i'll give ya one cheat on this one, the answer to this one is no....so who says?
ada...... On the job sites I've done work at, all the Electricians have always stated the bottom of the box cannot be any lower than 12'' from the ground, and light switches cannot be any lower than 43 1/2'' (bottom of the box) I was told by an Electrician Americans with Disabilities Act required it. Same with toilet seats from the rim of the toilet not being allowed to be any higher than 18'' from the ground. To raise it up you can use a raised toilet seat if its needed. etc.

Last edited by BigGuy01; 12-25-2011 at 01:06 AM.
BigGuy01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2011, 01:06 AM   #133
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,169
Rewards Points: 94
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


Quote:
Originally Posted by BigGuy01 View Post
12'' from the ground. and then the bottom of a light switch box has to be no less than 43 1/2 inches from the ground.
Really, are you sure on that? Do you realize what happens if the person in the home is in a wheelchair, or unable to reach down that fair to plug something into the outlet and are physically unable to bend down.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2011, 01:06 AM   #134
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,297
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


Quote:
ada......
OH...so all residences in WA have to conform to ADA standards (which that is not anyway)??
jproffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2011, 01:06 AM   #135
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,169
Rewards Points: 94
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


Quote:
Originally Posted by BigGuy01 View Post
ada......
Nope, sorry that is only part of the answer, but not the correct one.

__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Commercial toilet vs. Assisted Flush Residential Toilet gatesj1221 Plumbing 3 03-15-2011 11:47 PM
No ballast in 48 inch fluorescent fixture. Timster Electrical 16 06-10-2010 04:02 AM
Residential vs. Commercial Ballast. Gronon Electrical 3 02-21-2010 03:13 AM
Output on Florescent Ballast? aggiesrok Electrical 10 05-08-2009 03:09 PM
Commercial Ballast for Residential ???? lanyard_loop Electrical 4 11-11-2008 01:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.