Florescent Ballast, Commercial Or Residential? - Electrical - Page 6 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-24-2011, 11:48 PM   #76
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,423
Rewards Points: 2,508
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


Quote:
Originally Posted by BigGuy01 View Post
My uncle used to have a 4200sq ft $500,000 home, and his breaker was 30a................

He wasn't allowed to get anything commercial installed because the builders said it wasn't allowed because the house was going to be residential. Breaker they said was highest capacity allowable for a residential dwelling.
Sorry, unless you have something to back that up, no builder is going to deny a homeowner to have commercial grade devices or equipment installed in the home, unless it is a tract build and they want to cut every corner to make the build and structure as cheap as they could.

And what is this 30 amp breaker that you keep talking about? There is no main breaker that is in use these days, nor any home that could get by with 30 amp service. At any time, my use is anywhere from 35 to 42 amps for my home.

Advertisement

__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 11:52 PM   #77
Facilities Maintenance
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sedro-Woolley WA
Posts: 280
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
30 amps? How old is that house? BTW, my dryer is on a 30 amp breaker, if I had a electric water heater, so would it. If I had a heat pump, guess what, 30 amp breaker, could be 40 amp. If I ever had to add a sub-panel, guess what, I could put in a 60 amp breaker to feed it.
Didn't know that. How do you add the subpanel to increase the amperage to put in the 60amp breaker?

Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
What about the electrique stove or larger Central Air condtioing unit they denfine use larger breaker without issue.

And can you send me your state code related to the limitation of breaker size ???

Merci,
Marc
It's within the capacity of the breaker. I'm not sure what you're saying?

Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
Ok do you know what our conductor colour code is ?

Merci.
Marc
Not a clue. I do know European Electricity has a different frequency compared to American Electricity. No idea of wire/color codes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by plummen View Post
And youve never seen a 1/2" water service either.
Can you explain a gfci and how it operates to me,im feeling rusty.
How about an afci?
Im installing a sub panel monday,should I bond the neutrals/grounds together or seperate them?
If so what kind of glue should I use to bond them?
While Im there I need to install a drip leg on the water heater,how far off the ground should the bottem of it be ?
How many 90s can I put in the drip leg before i have to step up to bigger pipe?
My condensing unit says it pulls 12.3 amps how big of a breaker should i wire it into,what size wire?
youre my saviour!
GFCI is a Ground Fault Circuit Interuptor. It shuts down the circuit if a sudden surge of amperage is detected. Keeping someone from getting shocked/electricuted. (Like drop a hair dryer into a bathtub, the person will get a mini jolt but the circuit will be shut down before anything major occurs)

AFCI? Not a clue what that is. I'll google it in a bit.

Last I checked, Neutrals, Grounds, and Hots are supposed to be seperated from each other?

Drip Leg, shouldn't that be like 6-8'' from the ground? #4 Copper and 15a?

How'd I do?
BigGuy01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 11:54 PM   #78
Facilities Maintenance
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sedro-Woolley WA
Posts: 280
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Sorry, unless you have something to back that up, no builder is going to deny a homeowner to have commercial grade devices or equipment installed in the home, unless it is a tract build and they want to cut every corner to make the build and structure as cheap as they could.

And what is this 30 amp breaker that you keep talking about? There is no main breaker that is in use these days, nor any home that could get by with 30 amp service. At any time, my use is anywhere from 35 to 42 amps for my home.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-pla-_-NA-_-NA

Largest he could have installed.
BigGuy01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 11:55 PM   #79
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,916
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


Quote:
Originally Posted by BigGuy01 View Post
Actually, it's Flagger, OSHA-10, Forklift Operator, Electrical Trainee reciept (get the card itself in a few days, have to wait for processing blah blah blah, and it goes into electrical license after 10,000hrs of working electrical, but I'm going for more training towards plumbing because I love doing Plumbing more than Electrical, much more funner to me) Powder Actuated Tools Cert. Lovers reward card, Home Depot Rewards Club, and then my Driver's License.

Luckily in my state, Plumbers and Electricians are State Certified, so it saves wallet space.
Yeah you need aflagger alright!
yeah after 10,000hrs of apprentice work,dont forget that little state test that comes before the license!
osha 10,yeah i remember taking that bout 20 years ago.
powder actuated tools cert,i think my grandson has one of those (hes 3 now)
home depot rewards card,now it all makes sense!
i bet youve got the whole homeless depot/do it yourself library on cd rom!
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 11:59 PM   #80
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,423
Rewards Points: 2,508
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


Quote:
Originally Posted by BigGuy01 View Post
Doubtful on that.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 11:59 PM   #81
Facilities Maintenance
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sedro-Woolley WA
Posts: 280
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


Quote:
Originally Posted by plummen View Post
Yeah you need aflagger alright!
yeah after 10,000hrs of apprentice work,dont forget that little state test that comes before the license!
osha 10,yeah i remember taking that bout 20 years ago.
powder actuated tools cert,i think my grandson has one of those (hes 3 now)
home depot rewards card,now it all makes sense!
i bet youve got the whole homeless depot/do it yourself library on cd rom!
Now that's just cruel...

And yeah, like I said, 10,000hrs of Electrical work.

I hope you're Osha 10

And no, I can garuntee your 3 year old grandson wouldn't be certified to use what is essentially a gun that shoots nails instead of bullets. (Powder Actually Tools use a gunpowder charge, like that which is found inside a bullet casing, to propell a nail into steel, concrete, titanium, and other hard surfaces. In all intents and purposes, it is literally a gun)

Last edited by BigGuy01; 12-25-2011 at 12:03 AM.
BigGuy01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 11:59 PM   #82
Facilities Maintenance
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sedro-Woolley WA
Posts: 280
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Doubtful on that.
Per his contractor that was building it, the Electrician on the crew said anything larger wasn't allowed per code for the home. This was back in 2007.
BigGuy01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2011, 12:04 AM   #83
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,423
Rewards Points: 2,508
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


Quote:
Originally Posted by BigGuy01 View Post
Per his contractor that was building it, the Electrician on the crew said anything larger wasn't allowed per code for the home. This was back in 2007.
Again doubtful and really hard to believe.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2011, 12:05 AM   #84
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,916
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


Quote:
Originally Posted by BigGuy01 View Post


Didn't know that. How do you add the subpanel to increase the amperage to put in the 60amp breaker?



It's within the capacity of the breaker. I'm not sure what you're saying?


Not a clue. I do know European Electricity has a different frequency compared to American Electricity. No idea of wire/color codes.



GFCI is a Ground Fault Circuit Interuptor. It shuts down the circuit if a sudden surge of amperage is detected. Keeping someone from getting shocked/electricuted. (Like drop a hair dryer into a bathtub, the person will get a mini jolt but the circuit will be shut down before anything major occurs)

AFCI? Not a clue what that is. I'll google it in a bit.

Last I checked, Neutrals, Grounds, and Hots are supposed to be seperated from each other?

Drip Leg, shouldn't that be like 6-8'' from the ground? #4 Copper and 15a?

How'd I do?
you failed miserably son!
A gfi can detect closer to 1-millionath of an amp
you look up afci and report back!
hooray you seperate neutrals/grounds on a sub panel(googled it didnt ya? )
drip leg is supposed to be double the outside diameter of pipe off of ground
how many 90s before increasing size of a drip leg?
unit has a load of 12.3 amps you figure the wiring and breaker for 125% of any large load which gives you 15.375amps
too big for a 15a circuit so you use #12 wire and 20a breaker
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2011, 12:06 AM   #85
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,423
Rewards Points: 2,508
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


Quote:
Originally Posted by BigGuy01 View Post
Now that's just cruel...

And yeah, like I said, 10,000hrs of Electrical work.

I hope you're Osha 10

And no, I can garuntee your 3 year old grandson wouldn't be certified to use what is essentially a gun that shoots nails instead of bullets. (Powder Actually Tools use a gunpowder charge, like that which is found inside a bullet casing, to propell a nail into steel, concrete, titanium, and other hard surfaces. In all intents and purposes, it is literally a gun)
Really, none of us knew that. Any more grand info you wish to give out. BTW, have you figured out how many days of work it will take to get that 10,000 hours of experience, or should some of us help you calculate that.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?

Last edited by gregzoll; 12-25-2011 at 12:16 AM.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2011, 12:12 AM   #86
Facilities Maintenance
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sedro-Woolley WA
Posts: 280
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Again doubtful and really hard to believe.
Well, that was the reasoning for it. That's why nothing he had went above 27a

On Commercial Buildings I've seen up to 200a for a circuit breaker. But was basically an entire panel all on its own. And was powering an overhead crane used to move 80,000lb cargo containers. Not something I can imagine seeing in a home.

For a home, largest I've ever seen, even my own (was just looking at my own Service Panel) 30a is the highest.
BigGuy01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2011, 12:16 AM   #87
Facilities Maintenance
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sedro-Woolley WA
Posts: 280
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


Quote:
Originally Posted by plummen View Post
you failed miserably son!
A gfi can detect closer to 1-millionath of an amp
you look up afci and report back!
hooray you seperate neutrals/grounds on a sub panel(googled it didnt ya? )
drip leg is supposed to be double the outside diameter of pipe off of ground
how many 90s before increasing size of a drip leg?
unit has a load of 12.3 amps you figure the wiring and breaker for 125% of any large load which gives you 15.375amps
too big for a 15a circuit so you use #12 wire and 20a breaker
And as I said, any surge in a circuit and a GFI will trip, closing the circuit.

And no, I've known that from class.

So about 3'' roughly? Would it hurt to have it higher? (asking, because I'll end up doing it eventually)

Wouldn't it be 1? Drip leg is just a tube that goes from the relieve valve at the bottom of the tank into the drip pan, correct? (not used to the term drip leg) Or are you talking about the Dip Tube? Dip tube should be much, much longer than the OD of the tube.... and only has 2 90 degree fittings at most, if not just one (depending on manufacturer)

So you take 125% of 12.3a and then go larger? What is the reason for that? (asking)

Last edited by BigGuy01; 12-25-2011 at 12:20 AM.
BigGuy01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2011, 12:18 AM   #88
Facilities Maintenance
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sedro-Woolley WA
Posts: 280
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Really, none of us knew that. Any more grand info you wish to give out. BTW, have you figured out how many days of work it will take to get that 10,000 hours of experience, or should some of us help you calculate that.
5 years of OJT, then another 50 years of OJE same as for Plumbers.

And Plummen apparently didn't know that, or he wouldn't have stated his 3 year old grandson was trained to use them.
BigGuy01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2011, 12:18 AM   #89
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,423
Rewards Points: 2,508
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


Quote:
Originally Posted by BigGuy01 View Post
And as I said, any surge in a circuit and a GFI will trip, closing the circuit.

And no, I've known that from class.

So about 3'' roughly? Would it hurt to have it higher? (asking, because I'll end up doing it eventually)

Wouldn't it be 1? Drip leg is just a tube that goes from the relieve valve at the bottom of the tank into the drip pan, correct? (not used to the term drip leg)

So you take 125% of 12.3a and then go larger? What is the reason for that? (asking)
Sorry, but a surge in current does not cause a GFCI to trip. It is a voltage imbalance between Neutral & Ground that causes the circuit inside to shut down the circuit.

Also, have you found out how a AFCI works yet?
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2011, 12:19 AM   #90
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,916
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


Quote:
Originally Posted by BigGuy01 View Post
Now that's just cruel...

And yeah, like I said, 10,000hrs of Electrical work.

I hope you're Osha 10

And no, I can garuntee your 3 year old grandson wouldn't be certified to use what is essentially a gun that shoots nails instead of bullets. (Powder Actually Tools use a gunpowder charge, like that which is found inside a bullet casing, to propell a nail into steel, concrete, titanium, and other hard surfaces. In all intents and purposes, it is literally a gun)
yeah i know what is ,ive had a ramset one since the early 90s ive also got a license for hilti"s
I spent some time in the Army probably before you were born operating a real rifle that fired real bullets at bad people,after that bit of training the ramsets were pretty easy to operate.
And yes my 3 year old grandson is very handy with tools for his age.I have a jd 710g 4x4 extendahoe and a jd 135d trackhoe that he knows how to pull the levers on both,by the time hes 10 id put him up against anybody if he keeps at it

Advertisement

plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Commercial toilet vs. Assisted Flush Residential Toilet gatesj1221 Plumbing 3 03-16-2011 12:47 AM
No ballast in 48 inch fluorescent fixture. Timster Electrical 16 06-10-2010 05:02 AM
Residential vs. Commercial Ballast. Gronon Electrical 3 02-21-2010 04:13 AM
Output on Florescent Ballast? aggiesrok Electrical 10 05-08-2009 04:09 PM
Commercial Ballast for Residential ???? lanyard_loop Electrical 4 11-11-2008 02:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts