Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-24-2011, 10:32 PM   #61
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,285
Rewards Points: 2,232
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


Quote:
Originally Posted by BigGuy01 View Post
So you're saying you're going to have a 50 or higher amp breaker? Because obviously you're going to run more than a water heater in a home at any one time.
Yes, most homes do have breakers that large for water heaters. But guess what, they usually have 200 amp or as large as 400 amp service. Guess you did not know that.

__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 10:33 PM   #62
Facilities Maintenance
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sedro-Woolley WA
Posts: 280
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
Nice try BigGuy I live in France as far for the electrical device between the resdentail and commercal line they intertwined so there is no differance only the voltage level that all.

For the 4 prong receptale or our terms " power points " you have to be little more carefull with the wording due you can get them in monophase or triphase verison and if someone is not carefull you know the result .,, firework show or magic smoke which you will cuss like nuts.

Merci,
Marc
European Electrical has a different frequency (hertz) than American Electrical. Its why you can't plug in American items into a European outlet without an adapter between the two to change the frequency of the electricity so it doesn't fry the American made device.
BigGuy01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 10:34 PM   #63
Facilities Maintenance
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sedro-Woolley WA
Posts: 280
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Yes, most homes do have breakers that large for water heaters. But guess what, they usually have 200 amp or as large as 400 amp service. Guess you did not know that.
My uncle used to have a 4200sq ft $500,000 home, and his breaker was 30a................

He wasn't allowed to get anything commercial installed because the builders said it wasn't allowed because the house was going to be residential. Breaker they said was highest capacity allowable for a residential dwelling.
BigGuy01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 10:37 PM   #64
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,285
Rewards Points: 2,232
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


Quote:
Originally Posted by BigGuy01 View Post
Dude, I don't know of ANY homes that have any higher than 30 amps..... That includes the $500,000 house my uncle bought years back....
30 amps? How old is that house? BTW, my dryer is on a 30 amp breaker, if I had a electric water heater, so would it. If I had a heat pump, guess what, 30 amp breaker, could be 40 amp. If I ever had to add a sub-panel, guess what, I could put in a 60 amp breaker to feed it.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 10:37 PM   #65
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


Quote:
Originally Posted by BigGuy01 View Post
My uncle used to have a 4200sq ft $500,000 home, and his breaker was 30a................

He wasn't allowed to get anything commercial installed because the builders said it wasn't allowed because the house was going to be residential. Breaker they said was highest capacity allowable for a residential dwelling.
What about the electrique stove or larger Central Air condtioing unit they denfine use larger breaker without issue.

And can you send me your state code related to the limitation of breaker size ???

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
plummen (12-24-2011)
Old 12-24-2011, 10:37 PM   #66
Member
 
Msradell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Louisville Kentucky
Posts: 1,215
Rewards Points: 576
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


Quote:
Originally Posted by BigGuy01 View Post
My uncle used to have a 4200sq ft $500,000 home, and his breaker was 30a................

He wasn't allowed to get anything commercial installed because the builders said it wasn't allowed because the house was going to be residential. Breaker they said was highest capacity allowable for a residential dwelling.
At least he listened to and believed that malarkey!

It's been fun but you can go on playing tonight while the rest must do something more constructive!

Merry Christmas!
Msradell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 10:39 PM   #67
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


Quote:
Originally Posted by BigGuy01 View Post
European Electrical has a different frequency (hertz) than American Electrical. Its why you can't plug in American items into a European outlet without an adapter between the two to change the frequency of the electricity so it doesn't fry the American made device.
Ok do you know what our conductor colour code is ?

Merci.
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 10:40 PM   #68
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,911
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


Quote:
Originally Posted by BigGuy01 View Post
Never said you couldn't. But I've never seen a house with anything bigger than 30a
And youve never seen a 1/2" water service either.
Can you explain a gfci and how it operates to me,im feeling rusty.
How about an afci?
Im installing a sub panel monday,should I bond the neutrals/grounds together or seperate them?
If so what kind of glue should I use to bond them?
While Im there I need to install a drip leg on the water heater,how far off the ground should the bottem of it be ?
How many 90s can I put in the drip leg before i have to step up to bigger pipe?
My condensing unit says it pulls 12.3 amps how big of a breaker should i wire it into,what size wire?
youre my saviour!
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 10:41 PM   #69
Facilities Maintenance
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sedro-Woolley WA
Posts: 280
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


Quote:
Originally Posted by plummen View Post
Well im sure atleast 2 of those cards in your wallet are for your the phone numbers of all your bosses at burger king,then you have the business card of the guy who sold your boss that tamper proof spec grade gfi for the womens bathroom you keep testing every 30 minutes(cant be too safe! )
maybe if youre a good boy and finish that correspondence course in electrical theory theyll move you up to head bulb changer some day!
Actually, it's Flagger, OSHA-10, Forklift Operator, Electrical Trainee reciept (get the card itself in a few days, have to wait for processing blah blah blah, and it goes into electrical license after 10,000hrs of working electrical, but I'm going for more training towards plumbing because I love doing Plumbing more than Electrical, much more funner to me) Powder Actuated Tools Cert. Lovers reward card, Home Depot Rewards Club, and then my Driver's License.

Luckily in my state, Plumbers and Electricians are State Certified, so it saves wallet space.
BigGuy01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 10:42 PM   #70
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,911
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Bound View Post
....I see that nobody learned anything from the "red transfer wire" issue.....ho hum. Don't kids say the darndest things?
It was a slow night!
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 10:43 PM   #71
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Msradell View Post
Merry Christmas!
And a very Merry Christmas to you and everyone else here!!
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 10:44 PM   #72
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,285
Rewards Points: 2,232
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


Quote:
Originally Posted by BigGuy01 View Post
European Electrical has a different frequency (hertz) than American Electrical. Its why you can't plug in American items into a European outlet without an adapter between the two to change the frequency of the electricity so it doesn't fry the American made device.
Where in the world did that come from? Are you just trying to dig for more info to help in your trade, or just not realizing that some of these guys that are professionals in the trades can show you a thing or two. Back in the day for your info, back in the day, there was no consistency for the frequency of electrical systems here in the U.S. It was not until Westinghouse Electricity decided to make it standardized to use 60hz, due to stuff just ran better. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Utility_frequency
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 10:46 PM   #73
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


..."if you let them do it to you, you've got yourself to blame" The Who
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 10:47 PM   #74
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,911
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


Quote:
Originally Posted by BigGuy01 View Post
European Electrical has a different frequency (hertz) than American Electrical. Its why you can't plug in American items into a European outlet without an adapter between the two to change the frequency of the electricity so it doesn't fry the American made device.
Learned that on the internet didnt ya,did you also read the part about most europeon countries running on 240v instead of 120?
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 10:48 PM   #75
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,911
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


Quote:
Originally Posted by BigGuy01 View Post
My uncle used to have a 4200sq ft $500,000 home, and his breaker was 30a................

He wasn't allowed to get anything commercial installed because the builders said it wasn't allowed because the house was going to be residential. Breaker they said was highest capacity allowable for a residential dwelling.
Dude youre smoking crack!

plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Commercial toilet vs. Assisted Flush Residential Toilet gatesj1221 Plumbing 3 03-15-2011 11:47 PM
No ballast in 48 inch fluorescent fixture. Timster Electrical 16 06-10-2010 04:02 AM
Residential vs. Commercial Ballast. Gronon Electrical 3 02-21-2010 03:13 AM
Output on Florescent Ballast? aggiesrok Electrical 10 05-08-2009 03:09 PM
Commercial Ballast for Residential ???? lanyard_loop Electrical 4 11-11-2008 01:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.