Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-24-2011, 10:22 PM   #46
Facilities Maintenance
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sedro-Woolley WA
Posts: 280
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Msradell View Post
There's no problem installing the 36kw water heater in a residential application as long as the proper sized wiring and breakers are used! Obviously the same ones used for in a normal residential water heater couldn't be used but if they are correctly sized there isn't a problem which any code book or AHJ will support!
So you're saying you're going to have a 50 or higher amp breaker? Because obviously you're going to run more than a water heater in a home at any one time.

BigGuy01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 10:22 PM   #47
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,901
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


Quote:
Originally Posted by BigGuy01 View Post
You have that ability in the links provided to compare the same outputs.
Im relying on your great wealth of knowledge here!
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 10:23 PM   #48
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,131
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


Quote:
Originally Posted by BigGuy01 View Post
I ment to say majority of copper used is replaced with PEX because it is much cheaper, and can hold to the same limits of copper for the purpose of drinking water and water used for showering, etc.

That said, LCD and Plasma Screen TVs do nto use mercury. Only the older "Box" TVs use Mercury. Same goes for Computer Monitors, etc. The newer ones use plasma, or Crystals. Not mercury.

Also, PEX is actually very easy to work with. Many ways to put fittings on it, with the fastest and easiest way is putting a PEX ring on the edge of PEX tubing, using a special tool to expand the end, and then puting the fitting in place, hold it steady for 2 mins or so, and the PEX will conform to the tube/fitting, creating an easy, instant water-tight seal. Very quick, easy, and cheap. For both commercial and residential use.

Personally I love PEX. It makes life incredibly easier.
No Copper did not get replaced with PEX. Both are still used. In some cities, you can only use Copper for water piping, PEX is not allowed.

Yes, LCD's, Plasma tv sets all have mercury in them. Plasma is a what is created inside the tube of a Plasma tv, due to the exciting of the gas that is inside them. Ever seen a Neon light, or one of those globes that has threads of lighting in them? It is caused by the Plasma energy inside. Those "Crystals" inside LCD's uses electricity to excite them, and they float in a liquid matter. Every electronic device out there has a trace amount of mercury in them. And depending on the purpose, mercury is used in a lot of manufacturing processes, especially with Gold. So you better no longer wear any gold jewelry, or use anything with gold plating.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 10:24 PM   #49
Member
 
Msradell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Louisville Kentucky
Posts: 1,168
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


Quote:
Originally Posted by BigGuy01 View Post
So you're saying you're going to have a 50 or higher amp breaker? Because obviously you're going to run more than a water heater in a home at any one time.
? So what's the problem with that? Many larger homes have at least 400 amp service!
Msradell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 10:25 PM   #50
Facilities Maintenance
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sedro-Woolley WA
Posts: 280
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


Quote:
Originally Posted by plummen View Post
Last time I looked a 10 gauge wire was rated for the same load whether it was residential or commercial,a single phase 200amp service in a commercial building is rated for the same loads as a 200amp residential service.
a 3 phase piece of equipment for a commercial building draws less power/more efficient than a single phase piece of equipment of same size,but most houses in the US dont have 3 phase power yet anyway it is coming though. (hows that for apples and oranges for ya? )
there are plenty of homes out there with commercial kitchens in them,and commercial water heaters as well.
So before you start giving lessons might i suggest you go down to the local trade school and sign up for some classes,by the way im looking through my wallet and i see a state issued electrical contractors license/a city issued master electricians license/5 differant city issued plumbers licenses/a city issued sewer layers license/a dept of enviromental quality issued master septic tank installers license/2 hvac contractor licenses/an epa universal certification dated 2/94/an ase refrig cert.........
How big is your friggen wallet Do you even have room for your credit cards or drivers license in all that? I can barely fit 7 or 8 cards in my wallet outside of my D/L...
BigGuy01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 10:25 PM   #51
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,901
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


Quote:
Originally Posted by BigGuy01 View Post
So you're saying you're going to have a 50 or higher amp breaker? Because obviously you're going to run more than a water heater in a home at any one time.
If the wire is properly sized for the load you can have a 100a breaker!
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 10:25 PM   #52
Facilities Maintenance
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sedro-Woolley WA
Posts: 280
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Msradell View Post
? So what's the problem with that? Many larger homes have at least 400 amp service!
Dude, I don't know of ANY homes that have any higher than 30 amps..... That includes the $500,000 house my uncle bought years back....
BigGuy01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 10:26 PM   #53
Facilities Maintenance
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sedro-Woolley WA
Posts: 280
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


Quote:
Originally Posted by plummen View Post
If the wire is properly sized for the load you can have a 100a breaker!
Never said you couldn't. But I've never seen a house with anything bigger than 30a
BigGuy01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 10:27 PM   #54
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,131
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


Quote:
Originally Posted by BigGuy01 View Post
Electrical Outlets, switches, and GFCIs are rated for both commercial and residential. Pull one out and read it. They are designed to the same specs and are universal. We don't live in Europe bud.... Commercial and Residential Light Switches and outlets are the same.

Just like how you use the same 4 prong outlet to plug in your dryer as a machine shop will use to plug in their drill press or table saw etc. They are engineered to be universal for both Residential and Commercial Application.
Gee, where did you pick that up? Maybe from the fact that people have been telling you that over and over. And no, a 4-wire plug for a dryer is not the same as for a machine shop drill press or table saw. Majority of the equipment in machine shops is hardwired to a junction box up in the ceiling, or to conduit, and the machine is bolted to the floor.

You son have a lot to learn, then just throwing stuff out there that you have no idea in what you are talking about.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gregzoll For This Useful Post:
plummen (12-24-2011)
Old 12-24-2011, 10:28 PM   #55
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


....I see that nobody learned anything from the "red transfer wire" issue.....ho hum. Don't kids say the darndest things?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 10:28 PM   #56
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


Quote:
Originally Posted by BigGuy01 View Post
Electrical Outlets, switches, and GFCIs are rated for both commercial and residential. Pull one out and read it. They are designed to the same specs and are universal. We don't live in Europe bud.... Commercial and Residential Light Switches and outlets are the same.

Just like how you use the same 4 prong outlet to plug in your dryer as a machine shop will use to plug in their drill press or table saw etc. They are engineered to be universal for both Residential and Commercial Application.
Nice try BigGuy I live in France as far for the electrical device between the resdentail and commercal line they intertwined so there is no differance only the voltage level that all.

For the 4 prong receptale or our terms " power points " you have to be little more carefull with the wording due you can get them in monophase or triphase verison and if someone is not carefull you know the result .,, firework show or magic smoke which you will cuss like nuts.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 10:30 PM   #57
Facilities Maintenance
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sedro-Woolley WA
Posts: 280
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
No Copper did not get replaced with PEX. Both are still used. In some cities, you can only use Copper for water piping, PEX is not allowed.

Yes, LCD's, Plasma tv sets all have mercury in them. Plasma is a what is created inside the tube of a Plasma tv, due to the exciting of the gas that is inside them. Ever seen a Neon light, or one of those globes that has threads of lighting in them? It is caused by the Plasma energy inside. Those "Crystals" inside LCD's uses electricity to excite them, and they float in a liquid matter. Every electronic device out there has a trace amount of mercury in them. And depending on the purpose, mercury is used in a lot of manufacturing processes, especially with Gold. So you better no longer wear any gold jewelry, or use anything with gold plating.
In WA, from Bellingham to Seattle to Spokane, PEX is used anywhere copper isn't needed. At least in my state. Can't speak for yours, but here, anything outside of the connections to a water heater and shower/bathtub are all PEX. The nipples to hook up sink feed lines and other things like that, are copper/brass by plumbers personal preference. But are not required by code.

That's just in my area. That said, my monitor doesn't have a mercury warning label.... It has Lead Warning labels, but not Mercury.
BigGuy01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 10:30 PM   #58
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


"magic smoke"?? I know that motors run on smoke because when the smoke leaks out of a motor it stops running.
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Missouri Bound For This Useful Post:
plummen (12-24-2011)
Old 12-24-2011, 10:31 PM   #59
Member
 
Msradell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Louisville Kentucky
Posts: 1,168
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


Quote:
Originally Posted by BigGuy01 View Post
Never said you couldn't. But I've never seen a house with anything bigger than 30a
If you get out in the field on your own (if you ever do) you might actually see some of those things we're talking about! Stuff like this you won't see in those little three room homes you're practicing on. You probably also want to change the title below your name to student until you get some more experience to support that I know you're using!
Msradell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 10:31 PM   #60
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,901
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Florescent ballast, commercial or residential?


Quote:
Originally Posted by BigGuy01 View Post
How big is your friggen wallet Do you even have room for your credit cards or drivers license in all that? I can barely fit 7 or 8 cards in my wallet outside of my D/L...
Well im sure atleast 2 of those cards in your wallet are for your the phone numbers of all your bosses at burger king,then you have the business card of the guy who sold your boss that tamper proof spec grade gfi for the womens bathroom you keep testing every 30 minutes(cant be too safe! )
maybe if youre a good boy and finish that correspondence course in electrical theory theyll move you up to head bulb changer some day!

plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Commercial toilet vs. Assisted Flush Residential Toilet gatesj1221 Plumbing 3 03-15-2011 11:47 PM
No ballast in 48 inch fluorescent fixture. Timster Electrical 16 06-10-2010 04:02 AM
Residential vs. Commercial Ballast. Gronon Electrical 3 02-21-2010 03:13 AM
Output on Florescent Ballast? aggiesrok Electrical 10 05-08-2009 03:09 PM
Commercial Ballast for Residential ???? lanyard_loop Electrical 4 11-11-2008 01:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.