Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-28-2008, 02:49 PM   #1
Member
 
47_47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Springville, NY
Posts: 1,486
Rewards Points: 560
Default

Floor Outlets


I am planning on installing (2) duplex floor outlets on my second floor room (along the rail). The room will be carpeted and I have access to the underside. I was given (2) Hubbell brass covers and flanges (SF39253) and a few cover spacer flanges (S5016). I need to locate the appropriate boxes to mount the covers.

The boxes I've seen are meant for direct bury in concrete and are meant to be used with threaded conduit. Being on the second floor and not a wet environment I was planning on running romex.

My question, does anyone know of a box I could use these covers with romex?

Thanks in advance.
Mike

__________________
What we've got here is... failure to communicate. Some men you just can't reach. So you get what we had here last week, which is the way he wants it... well, he gets it.
47_47 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 03:36 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Floor Outlets


Carlon makes the best floor box ever. Its adjustable, so it will sit perfect on top of carpet or any unknown finished floor thickness. This is the only floorbox I sell, can be installed new work or oldwork as well.



http://www.tnb.com/ps/fulltilt/index.cgi?part=B121BFBB


Last edited by chris75; 10-28-2008 at 03:38 PM.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 04:40 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,652
Rewards Points: 1,124
Default

Floor Outlets


Does the brass cover need to be grounded even though the box is plastic?
jogr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 05:42 PM   #4
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Floor Outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by jogr View Post
Does the brass cover need to be grounded even though the box is plastic?
Yep, and the carlon one comes with a grounding pigtail.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 06:54 AM   #5
Member
 
47_47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Springville, NY
Posts: 1,486
Rewards Points: 560
Default

Floor Outlets


Thanks for the reply, Chris. I have an earlier version of a round flange, similar to this one, except instead of 4 mounting holes, mine has only 2 and they are diagonal. I'll check out the link you sent.
Attached Images
 
__________________
What we've got here is... failure to communicate. Some men you just can't reach. So you get what we had here last week, which is the way he wants it... well, he gets it.

Last edited by 47_47; 10-29-2008 at 07:06 AM. Reason: added
47_47 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.