Floor Lamp Doesn't Work In Some Outlets - Electrical - Page 3 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-06-2010, 10:48 AM   #31
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Floor lamp doesn't work in some outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ View Post

Here is one thing I sometimes do (including what I did to find out that a power plug was bad). Take a needle or pin and poke the cord )
I understand what you are doing AllanJ but personally I would much rather suggest the lamp be disassembled enough to be able to test the conductors at the switch.

Ok, how about just to determine the facts:


lamp only works in GFCI recep

this lamp does not work in a non-gfci protected recep (any portion of the lamp either the touch spot or the actual switched section)

other lamps work in the receps this lamp doesn't work in

nothing is tripping (either GFCI or breaker) when trying this lamp

you have actually checked the receptacles with a one of those plug in testers that check for polarity and ground connections, yes?
---------------

question: do you have to use the touch point switch for either section of the lamp to work or are the two sections totally separate? Does the manual switch have to be on for either section to work or are they totally separate?

Do you have an ohmmeter or a continuity tester? If so, attempt to test from each of the plug points (hot, neutral, ground) to the lamp housing and the touch pad.

Advertisement

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2010, 10:23 PM   #32
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Floor lamp doesn't work in some outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by jlmran View Post
How old is the lamp?

(No further replies allowed from those who have identified themselves as couch potatoes! )
MDR !!! { LOL } very funny but I have a feeling that is a electronic controlled luminaire that need ground for referince point.

Senice the OP did mention one part is halogen but what about other parts ??

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2010, 10:35 PM   #33
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Floor lamp doesn't work in some outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
I have a feeling that is a electronic controlled luminaire that need ground for referince point.
that's what I was shooting for with my post as well.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2010, 10:42 PM   #34
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Floor lamp doesn't work in some outlets


Nap.,

I think this part may be a shot in dark but possiblty that the luminarie did have both netural and ground crossed or tied together in the controller ?

{ I am not suprised with chinese stuff whatever ya got I get it in France so it is no stranger with that kind of stuff }

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2010, 11:40 PM   #35
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 979
Rewards Points: 502
Default

Floor lamp doesn't work in some outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
that's what I was shooting for with my post as well.
As was I...thus the age question.
jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2010, 12:17 PM   #36
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,412
Rewards Points: 822
Default

Floor lamp doesn't work in some outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by jp45 View Post
The house is less than 3 years old, and all the plugs test ok for ground.
Thanks for the info.


He said all receptacles have a proven ground.

Advertisement

bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing kitch outlets to GFCI jhubert Electrical 7 11-16-2009 08:23 PM
handling unsafe work by an electrician wuxingming57 Electrical 1 11-14-2009 08:07 PM
Code issues for witch operated outlets above kitchen cabinets? jcims Electrical 5 03-25-2009 08:28 PM
tub faucet won't work newatthis Plumbing 4 10-31-2008 02:57 PM
Outlets Work - Switches Do Not? Quick Electrical 6 08-13-2008 05:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts