Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-04-2010, 07:40 PM   #1
Woodworker
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Auburn, CA
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Unhappy

Floor lamp doesn't work in some outlets


I have tested the outlets and they work for other lamps, but the floor lamp only works on the GFCI outlets in the house. The floor lamp will not work in any of the non GFC! outlets in the house. The floor lamp has a 3 prong cord. It has 2 lights. The one on the top is contorlled by touching a spot just above the switch that controls the other light which is a halogen reading light.


Last edited by jp45; 04-05-2010 at 11:50 AM.
jp45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2010, 07:44 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,346
Rewards Points: 690
Default

Floor lamp doesn't work in some outlets


I'll watch this one from the couch.

bobelectric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2010, 07:54 PM   #3
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Floor lamp doesn't work in some outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by jp45 View Post
I have tested the outlets and they work for other lamps, but the floor lamp only works on the GFCI outlets in the house. The floor lamp will not work in any of the non GFC! outlets in the house.

Eh? that is instering on and do this luminaire do have two wire cord or three wire cord ??
And this floor luminare is flourscent or halgon or what it have plus it have dimmer in there ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobelectric View Post
I'll watch this one from the couch.
Excuze moi, Bob., can you pass the popcorn to moi ??

I am hungry for a popcorn at the moment.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2010, 08:04 PM   #4
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,951
Rewards Points: 2,158
Default

Floor lamp doesn't work in some outlets


Maybe the floor lamp thinks it needs a floor receptacle.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2010, 08:22 PM   #5
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Rewards Points: 2,000
Blog Entries: 7
Default

Floor lamp doesn't work in some outlets


Maybe it's bi-polar.....Wait, that's not funny....
Is that funny?

How about some more information....
- Will it work plugged into an extension cord?
- Is it damaged, old, antique, rewired?


I've never seen a lamp with a 3-prong plug....

We need more information to help you... till then, I'm joining the boys on the couch. Extra salt on my popcorn please.
__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2010, 08:27 PM   #6
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Floor lamp doesn't work in some outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by Leah Frances View Post

I've never seen a lamp with a 3-prong plug....
Leah.,

I have see couple lampés that have 3 wire cords on it both North Americiané and European verison it little more common to find that in European side.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2010, 08:35 PM   #7
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Rewards Points: 2,000
Blog Entries: 7
Default

Floor lamp doesn't work in some outlets


No big surprise, I've yet to 'see it all...'

BTW I'm taking my couch time on the front porch - 77 degrees F light breeze bringing all the amazing scents of spring, tulips waving. Dogs milling about with the chickens, and a better Sunday could not be had.
__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2010, 08:52 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,970
Rewards Points: 2,036
Default

Floor lamp doesn't work in some outlets


Bad power cord plug? Try jiggling the cord where it goes into the plug and also jiggling the plug in the outlet.

Maybe it is only coincidental that it was not working in the non-GFCI outlets.

Once my father bought six floor lamps because they were on sale but we only needed two, the other four were stored in the basement for several years. Then we got them out and two did not work. Too late to return them to the store. Turned out that the power plug was bad, they had some kind of automated manufacturing process that stripped the insulation off the lamp cord, bent the wires into position, and pressed the bare wire ends against the prongs while molding the plug from liquid plastic. No springs or clamps or solder. On some the insulation didn't get stripped off properly during that process.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 04-05-2010 at 09:00 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2010, 08:01 AM   #9
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,451
Rewards Points: 502
Default

Floor lamp doesn't work in some outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by Leah Frances View Post
Maybe it's bi-polar.....Wait, that's not funny....
Is that funny?
I thought that was pretty funny
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2010, 11:28 AM   #10
Woodworker
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Auburn, CA
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Floor lamp doesn't work in some outlets


The floor lamp does have a 3 prong cord. It has 2 lights. The light on the top is controlled by touching a button above the switch that controls the reading light below. The reading light is a halogen.
jp45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2010, 11:30 AM   #11
Woodworker
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Auburn, CA
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Floor lamp doesn't work in some outlets


The floor lamp has not been rewired. It is about 9 years old. It was a very expensive lamp, or I would just go buy a new one.
jp45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2010, 11:51 AM   #12
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Floor lamp doesn't work in some outlets


if it's got a three prong plug then your most likely problem is that your house is old and there's no grounds run to the plugs. The gfci kind of circumvents the no ground problem that some devices(i've recently found out) need to have. The only answer to this on if that's what the problem is, is to either run new wire all over you house with a ground . Or install a GFCI plug in the place where you want to plug in the light. Be sure to mark the plug with the "no ground" sticker.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to andrew79 For This Useful Post:
secutanudu (04-05-2010)
Old 04-05-2010, 12:23 PM   #13
Woodworker
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Auburn, CA
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Floor lamp doesn't work in some outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by andrew79 View Post
if it's got a three prong plug then your most likely problem is that your house is old and there's no grounds run to the plugs. The gfci kind of circumvents the no ground problem that some devices(i've recently found out) need to have. The only answer to this on if that's what the problem is, is to either run new wire all over you house with a ground . Or install a GFCI plug in the place where you want to plug in the light. Be sure to mark the plug with the "no ground" sticker.
The house is less than 3 years old, and all the plugs test ok for ground.
Thanks for the info.
jp45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2010, 12:59 PM   #14
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Floor lamp doesn't work in some outlets


is there room on that couch?
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2010, 01:01 PM   #15
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Rewards Points: 2,000
Blog Entries: 7
Default

Floor lamp doesn't work in some outlets


There is always room for the electrical boys (and gals).

__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing kitch outlets to GFCI jhubert Electrical 7 11-16-2009 08:23 PM
handling unsafe work by an electrician wuxingming57 Electrical 1 11-14-2009 08:07 PM
Code issues for witch operated outlets above kitchen cabinets? jcims Electrical 5 03-25-2009 08:28 PM
tub faucet won't work newatthis Plumbing 4 10-31-2008 02:57 PM
Outlets Work - Switches Do Not? Quick Electrical 6 08-13-2008 05:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.