Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-18-2013, 08:33 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Northeast of Boston
Posts: 80
Share |
Default

Flood/Spot Light Lamps?


Hello Gurus,

So I'm replacing some 30 year old flood light boxes on my house since they are starting to rust out and all the rubber/foam gaskets dried out and broken. I purchased these: http://www.homedepot.com/p/Red-Dot-L...G#.UmE1753D9aQ

My question is are these only rated for PAR38 Halogen(incandescent) lights up to 150W? I can't use a CFL or LED w/transformer correct?

Thanks,

~S

Skelleyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2013, 08:49 AM   #2
Member
 
PoleCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 1,347
Default

Flood/Spot Light Lamps?


You can put any bulb with a mogul base in there up to the listed wattage. The traditional Par 38 bulbs mate with the gasket better.

__________________
"Ask me anything. If I don't know the answer I'll make something up."
PoleCat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2013, 08:22 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,372
Default

Flood/Spot Light Lamps?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Skelleyman View Post
Hello Gurus,

So I'm replacing some 30 year old flood light boxes on my house since they are starting to rust out and all the rubber/foam gaskets dried out and broken. I purchased these: http://www.homedepot.com/p/Red-Dot-L...G#.UmE1753D9aQ

My question is are these only rated for PAR38 Halogen(incandescent) lights up to 150W? I can't use a CFL or LED w/transformer correct?

Thanks,

~S
Are you aware that those lights are not rated or listed ?
But something simuliar you can use a CFL style par 38 lamp,
It will seal ok, as that fitting is made for par 38 style lamps.
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 05:57 AM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Default

Flood/Spot Light Lamps?


I have this type of LED bulb in a couple of my floods works like a charm .....!!


http://www.homedepot.com/p/Unbranded...9#.UmJjkYU4m1A
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 08:58 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Posts: 73
Default

Flood/Spot Light Lamps?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Philly Master View Post
I have this type of LED bulb in a couple of my floods works like a charm .....!!


http://www.homedepot.com/p/Unbranded...9#.UmJjkYU4m1A
Wow, is that what you guys would typically pay for a bulb like that? I bought some similar LED bulbs this summer for about $15 each.
readar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 09:16 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 48
Default

Flood/Spot Light Lamps?


Quote:
Originally Posted by readar

Wow, is that what you guys would typically pay for a bulb like that? I bought some similar LED bulbs this summer for about $15 each.
Looks like a 4-pack...so, around $17/ea.
RunningSparky is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to RunningSparky For This Useful Post:
Philly Master (10-22-2013)
Old 10-21-2013, 09:25 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Posts: 73
Default

Flood/Spot Light Lamps?


Oh, missed that, thanks. I thought I found one thing we had cheaper up here than you guys...
readar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 12:48 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Northeast of Boston
Posts: 80
Default

Flood/Spot Light Lamps?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Philly Master View Post
I have this type of LED bulb in a couple of my floods works like a charm .....!!


http://www.homedepot.com/p/Unbranded...9#.UmJjkYU4m1A
Excellent. Thanks How do well they hold up to the weather, rain, snow sleet, etc?
Thanks,

~S
Skelleyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 01:55 PM   #9
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,406
Default

Flood/Spot Light Lamps?


Quote:
Originally Posted by PoleCat View Post
You can put any bulb with a mogul base in there up to the listed wattage. The traditional Par 38 bulbs mate with the gasket better.
Mogul base ?
Perhaps you meant medium.
Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 05:02 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,372
Default

Flood/Spot Light Lamps?


I thought that was odd too !
There E28 base, or standard edison screw,
Were as mogul is E38 or E40.
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 04:22 AM   #11
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Default

Flood/Spot Light Lamps?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Skelleyman View Post
Excellent. Thanks How do well they hold up to the weather, rain, snow sleet, etc?
Thanks,

~S
fine ...LOL ... they are sealed pic one up and look at it ....
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 05:19 AM   #12
Member
 
PoleCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 1,347
Default

Flood/Spot Light Lamps?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Oso954 View Post
Mogul base ?
Perhaps you meant medium.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmxtothemax View Post
I thought that was odd too !
There E28 base, or standard edison screw,
Were as mogul is E38 or E40.
You say tomato, I say rutabaga. The mogul is for the over sized screw in bulbs isn't it. Or is it any size other than standard? Over the years I have noticed my vocabulary hasn't become smaller but my memory of what all them fancy words mean has deteriorated.
__________________
"Ask me anything. If I don't know the answer I'll make something up."
PoleCat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 04:42 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,372
Default

Flood/Spot Light Lamps?


That's all right ! we all get forgetful sometimes !

dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot wires on both sides of switch RedRumLoki Electrical 4 11-20-2012 09:37 PM
dimmer 'crossfade' when combining light circuits mitchl Electrical 8 12-11-2011 03:00 PM
2 Wires in to light, 3 Wires out, no juice on the switch prytoo Electrical 4 11-28-2011 05:24 PM
Marmoleum repairs muggyfrost Flooring 8 10-16-2008 08:19 PM
Pilot light button on furnace won't turn whydonchathen HVAC 5 10-05-2008 11:03 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.