Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-04-2011, 04:21 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

flood lights


Hello Folks, thanks for having me, hope you can help me I got this new industrial floodlight fixture in abox, that uses a 250 watt bulb. but no plug wire on it. Just a ballast with four yellow wires.one green. it has two of the yellow wires covered with clear plastic so i suppose i don't use those. so i wired in an extension cord wire with a plug and plugged it in, but nothing happened, can you help me and tell me what i did wrong?please. I thought the ballast would at least hum but not.. nothing . do i need a thicker cord with bigger wires or a bigger breaker? its for the outside yard. thanks for any help you can give me. I wanted to put up a picture but don't know how to do that either.. it is on a 15 amp breaker.

Last edited by underarainbow; 11-04-2011 at 08:07 PM. Reason: ad info
underarainbow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2011, 04:28 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,075
Default

flood lights


Can you post a picture ?
What brand ?
Is it a discharge light ?
What does each of the wires go to ?
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dmxtothemax For This Useful Post:
underarainbow (11-06-2011)
Old 11-06-2011, 11:09 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5
Default

flood lights


sorry for no info before, ok its an industrial hanging yard light Holophane, catalog # PETL250PM34 the tag on the side says Petrolux 11, Min 90 C supply conductors when supply connections are made in luminaire suitable for operation in ambient not exceeding 40* locations
relamp with 250 watts type M153, wired at 347 volts for supply connections use wire rated for at least 90*C


two yellow lines come from the capacitor, with CAP written on them in black.
the ballast has 6 yellow lines coming from it on one side and blue grey and yelow on the other side going to the negative bar where they come out factory made. i am just lost
don't know how to send a picture i have them but am getting nowhere trying to send them.
I thank you for answering me.. I wil try to send pictures again.
forget the picture i am too unlearned to get it up there. url? what does that mean? I want a picture off my pc.. it wants an url address... frustrations.... can't do this.
sorry can you work with what i told you?? i thank you greatly. mary
underarainbow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 11:36 AM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,472
Default

flood lights


Neither of those numbers show up on the web site.
You said the fixture is wired for 347 volts.
Are you located in Canada?

You will not be able to wire this light as is at home.

One of the wires should have a tag that reads 120 volts.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
underarainbow (11-06-2011)
Old 11-06-2011, 11:45 AM   #5
Boston Fan, get over it
 
Toofarfromfenwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Space Coast Florida
Posts: 32
Default

flood lights


Sounds like a 240 V fixture used for REALLY BIG commercial stuff.

My recommendation? Sell it on Ebay, and buy yourself something else. that is one HUGE floodlight, and likely will cost a fortune to run, and bulb replacement will be just as bad.

Just my $.02.

Cheers!
Toofarfromfenwa is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Toofarfromfenwa For This Useful Post:
underarainbow (11-06-2011)
Old 11-06-2011, 02:50 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5
Default

flood lights


Quote:
Originally Posted by Toofarfromfenwa View Post
Sounds like a 240 V fixture used for REALLY BIG commercial stuff.

My recommendation? Sell it on Ebay, and buy yourself something else. that is one HUGE floodlight, and likely will cost a fortune to run, and bulb replacement will be just as bad.

Just my $.02.

Cheers!
yes it is a huge light that came from commerical work yard. Extras so hubby brought it home. have two and don't know how to connect them up. how much to ask on ebay?lol
underarainbow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 02:52 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5
Default

flood lights


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Neither of those numbers show up on the web site.
You said the fixture is wired for 347 volts.
Are you located in Canada?

You will not be able to wire this light as is at home.

One of the wires should have a tag that reads 120 volts.
yes one of the yellow has 120 on it in red letters.
underarainbow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 03:58 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,075
Default

flood lights


Do you know if it is a mercury vapour ? sodium vapour ? or metal halide lamp ?
A picture will help identify the model,
Then you can usually download the specs and details,
Especially if it is a multi voltage unit.
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 04:26 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5
Default

flood lights


no i don't know,Petrolux holophane? I have decided to take it to the electricians shop and see if they can do it for me or tell me all about it. I hung up a work light for now. i thank you all for jumping in to help me but there are too many wires and i am untrained to deal with this. it could be a 250 amp light and i only have 100 amp service to my place..so going to the shop. thank you very much for your help. Mary
underarainbow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2011, 09:08 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,075
Default

flood lights


The light is most certainily not 250 amps !
At 120v that would be a 30 000w light,
Thats large by any standards.
You are confusing watts with amps,
they are quite different.
Your light is only 250w,
and judging by the numbers my guess is
it is metal halide.
A good light for a yard.

If you are not confident please take
it to an electricain and ask him to put a cord on it.
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dmxtothemax For This Useful Post:
underarainbow (11-11-2011)
Old 11-09-2011, 02:43 AM   #11
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

flood lights


That is 250 watts Pulse start Metal Halide luminarie and with the catalog number I translated { due my link to this is in French so I did changed to engish for ya }

You have 250 watts PSMH wired from factory with straight 347 volts but if you have extra leads that can be useable for other voltage however some luminaries I know they will have auxluary { secondary } lamp in there for restrke or cold start and that is 120 volt tap for smaller quatz halogén bulb.

I am seriouslly that you should bring that to the electrician to assist you on this one with connections there is little tricky to deal with it and by the way that is pretty hevey luminaire that is more than 20 KG so you will run into some mounting issue I do not know what else the part you got with it.

IMO better off talk to the electrician some of them may bater or trade the luminaire to better one for your useage.

Last thing that is a Expolision proof luminarie that why it is hevey.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where can I buy these 'ground' flood lights? noone Electrical 4 07-06-2011 03:31 PM
Rewiring flood lights Kelly Durfey Electrical 11 06-12-2011 09:17 PM
Wiring 2 Motion Sensor Flood Lights Through Siding Datwood2009 Electrical 3 05-15-2010 10:16 AM
Exterior fan/light box to flood lights Kelly Durfey Electrical 3 11-23-2008 02:30 PM
Halogen flood lights chicagonyc Electrical 5 07-15-2006 10:11 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.