Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-04-2009, 05:48 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 321
Rewards Points: 254
Default

flatscreen TV install


I find out there is a recessed "clock hanger" recptacle I can use for the plug of the TV. I also found out there is low voltage face plate that lets
the A/V cable come out of the wall, using a low voltage open back box to mount the plate.

That's 2 holes and 2 face plates, does anyone know there are better options or fixtures to get the low voltage and line voltage to the TV?

DIYGST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2009, 06:17 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,049
Rewards Points: 500
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

flatscreen TV install


Something like this?
http://www.smarthome.com/86518B/Rece...617-REB/p.aspx
or maybe this? http://cableorganizer.com/arlington-...Best%20Matches

wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2009, 06:23 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 321
Rewards Points: 254
Default

flatscreen TV install


hi those look great.
Can you tell me if that little divider in the middle separating the Line and Low voltage connection?

DIYGST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2009, 06:29 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,049
Rewards Points: 500
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

flatscreen TV install


Dual Gang Recessed Electrical Box
  • Dual voltage allows for power and low voltage use with included divider
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2009, 06:40 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 321
Rewards Points: 254
Default

flatscreen TV install


Thanks.. can you tell me if it's OK to run romex and low voltage (cat5, coaxial) through the same hole in the header?
DIYGST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2009, 06:48 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,049
Rewards Points: 500
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

flatscreen TV install


Nah , that wouldn't be a good idea. It would delete the purpose of the separation.
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2009, 06:53 PM   #7
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

flatscreen TV install


Quote:
Originally Posted by wirenut1110 View Post
Nah , that wouldn't be a good idea. It would delete the purpose of the separation.

Its perfectly fine, and allowed by code.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2009, 07:00 PM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,049
Rewards Points: 500
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

flatscreen TV install


Never said it wasn't "allowed", I just prefer to keep the 2 seperated. Personal preference that's all.
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2009, 07:02 PM   #9
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

flatscreen TV install


Quote:
Originally Posted by wirenut1110 View Post
Never said it wasn't "allowed", I just prefer to keep the 2 seperated. Personal preference that's all.

Well, you should say so then. Dont make the OP do more work than needed...
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2009, 07:05 PM   #10
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,049
Rewards Points: 500
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

flatscreen TV install


Well ok then, I'm sorry
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2009, 07:06 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 321
Rewards Points: 254
Default

flatscreen TV install


Thanks guys you are great help, I am set
DIYGST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2009, 07:13 PM   #12
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

flatscreen TV install


Quote:
Originally Posted by wirenut1110 View Post
Well ok then, I'm sorry

I am just teasing you...
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2009, 07:14 PM   #13
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

flatscreen TV install


Quote:
Originally Posted by DIYGST View Post
Thanks guys you are great help, I am set

Enjoy your TV.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2009, 09:35 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,205
Rewards Points: 506
Default

flatscreen TV install


Now, if only there was something worth watching on that expensive TV

FW

__________________

KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mounting a flatscreen TV on a sheetrock wall TanMan Building & Construction 14 02-16-2009 05:26 PM
When to install tile flooring? MT Stringer Remodeling 4 10-28-2008 09:49 PM
Preparing to install Kerdi on bathtub surround DIY-Renovator Flooring 18 07-17-2008 11:42 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.