Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-18-2008, 08:30 PM   #1

Share |

flat screen tv outlet

Hello, first off im new to this stuff, so take it easy on me. i have a flat sceen tv on want to hang on the wall. i want to hide all the wires. i know running the power cord is against code (even though it's a inside wall without insulation). anyway my question is, i have a outlet dierectly below wear im going to hang my tv. ive done some research on this and i have read different ways to do this. Can i just cut-out a hole wear i want the outlet install a box and recepticle and run the romex down to the existing outlet? If i do that, do i splice into the wires on the existing outlet or double up on the outlet? im lost thanks

stang93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2008, 08:57 PM   #2

flat screen tv outlet

Quote:
Originally Posted by stang93 View Post
Hello, first off im new to this stuff, so take it easy on me. i have a flat sceen tv on want to hang on the wall. i want to hide all the wires. i know running the power cord is against code (even though it's a inside wall without insulation). anyway my question is, i have a outlet dierectly below wear im going to hang my tv. ive done some research on this and i have read different ways to do this. Can i just cut-out a hole wear i want the outlet install a box and recepticle and run the romex down to the existing outlet? If i do that, do i splice into the wires on the existing outlet or double up on the outlet? im lost thanks
Open up the box below and if you have only one set of wires on the outlet you can just attach the wires to the outlet and splice the ground with the rest of the grounds. But if you open the outlet and you find out that there are wires that have wirenutes all you have to do is splice into that and your all set. But yes you are right you can drop a wire down to the outlet and good luck