Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-02-2010, 12:11 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 98
Share |
Default

Fixture whip


I am adding a new bathfan and was wondering if I have EMT running up the wall to a box, and then transition to a Fixture Whip cable to the bath fan, does the metal fixture whip serve as a continous ground as if it was EMT 100% of the way?

timchi29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 07:09 AM   #2
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

Fixture whip


Only if the fixture whip has a continuous bonding strip underneath the metal sheathing in contact with it. Check it's listing. Also you have to use the proper cable end-fittings that also have to be listed for use as the grounding requirement. If the cable has a separate green ground wire, it probably isn't going to have it's sheath rated as the ground, but the green wire would serve as your ground instead. You'ld have to check as to whether that wiring method is acceptable in your area.

__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 07:38 AM   #3
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,864
Default

Fixture whip


Only if the fixture whip has a continuous bonding strip underneath the metal sheathing in contact with it. Check it's listing.

That's news to me.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 09:02 AM   #4
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

Fixture whip


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
Only if the fixture whip has a continuous bonding strip underneath the metal sheathing in contact with it. Check it's listing.

That's news to me.
Armored cable (AC), Southwire MC-AP wire has an internal bonding strip,
MC is also availible as HCF cable which has a bonding strip as well as a full sized ground.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 12:04 PM   #5
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,864
Default

Fixture whip


Ever hear of greenfield?
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 02:42 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 98
Default

Fixture whip


I actually went with .5" Flexible metal conduit and installed (4)-#14.

http://afcweb.com/pdfs/liquidtuff/cu...x-rw-steel.pdf
timchi29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 08:42 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 10
Default

Fixture whip


you can tell if u have emt, take off the lite switch plate and look into the box with a flashlite and see the conduits coming into the box. Or u can see the romexes or the flex conduit ucan determine this at this point.
Kirky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 09:05 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 98
Default

Fixture whip


Kirky,

I know I have EMT, but the question is if the metal flex conduit i used from the EMT to the bath fan will still act as ground.
timchi29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 09:34 PM   #9
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Fixture whip


Quote:
Originally Posted by timchi29 View Post
Kirky,

I know I have EMT, but the question is if the metal flex conduit i used from the EMT to the bath fan will still act as ground.
The metal flex conduit will come in few diffrent class type.

BX will have interal bonding / grounding strip while the MC it will have a grounding conductor in there the reguar metal fexiable conduit do not have interal grounding so you have to pull the grounding conductor in there.

Merci.
Marc

frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Member, New House Owner, New Light fixture kingston73 Electrical 3 09-19-2010 06:13 PM
Old house, having light fixture issues atomiclilly Electrical 6 12-03-2009 08:54 AM
Installing One Light Fixture Causes Another Not To Work pythagras Electrical 2 07-02-2009 08:15 PM
double-ended halogen fixture bulbs stop working watt-ever-ny Electrical 6 11-20-2007 05:25 PM
Old house, new light fixture, too many wires Persephonee Electrical 3 01-15-2007 08:58 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.