Fixture Lights Partially - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-29-2012, 10:08 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

fixture lights partially


I recently bought a house and went to start replacing burnt out light bulbs. There are 2 outdoor fixtures above my garage which were both burnt out. I replaced those with 60 watt bulbs (max 100 fixtures) and they flashed brightly and then went to a dull orange. That is the most I can get out of these like they are at half power. I tried new fixtures with the same result and the fixtures measured 125 volts. These are on a 20 amp breaker with only the garage door opener and 2 indoor light fixtures. I also cannot find that these lights are on a switch so I think we can rule that out.

Advertisement


Last edited by fromme87; 08-29-2012 at 10:16 PM.
fromme87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 10:48 PM   #2
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

fixture lights partially


Flourescent bulbs by chance? Is there a motion detector or photocell on the circuit or are they controlled by a photocell remotely? Perhaps a timer somewhere? They have to be controlled somehow...you are missing something. Post a picture.

Advertisement

__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 11:05 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

fixture lights partially


They are not flourescent bulbs. They are dull enough that i can see the filament glowing orange without it blinding me. Right now the concern is not with the switch, but with the reason they are not fully lighting. It ends up blowing the bulbs if left on for more than a few minutes, so i dont get to troubleshoot much. I am fairly certain there is no switch tied to the lights as well as i cannot find a photocell or motion detector. I do however plan on wiring a new switch in. Any other ideas? A picture of what?
fromme87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 11:09 PM   #4
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

fixture lights partially


Quite odd. Bulbs that burn that dimly are symptoms of very low voltage...so they could last indefinetely. They usually don't burn out quickly. Any neutral problems? Are you saying that the lights are always on?...that seem a bit odd.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 11:20 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

fixture lights partially


its possible that the reason the light bulb stopped working was because we shook it and the hot filament broke easily. It does seem that they are always on and i agree that it seems odd. I think im going to have a friend who knows more than I stop in and give me a hand with this. You said that the dimly lit bulb is usually a sign of low voltage but my multimeter read 125 volts... any suggestions for things to check? The ground is hooked to the metal mount/box.
fromme87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 11:24 PM   #6
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

fixture lights partially


Having someone who "knows more" than you is a smart thing to do. It's hard to diagnose online but someone hands on can do that for you. I'm thinking you may have a wire broken, but not clean through that offers up a minimal amount of voltage under a load or possible a neutral problem. Please post results when you figure it out.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 06:58 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

fixture lights partially


CAN you measure the voltage at the fixture at the same time the bulb is on (glowing orange)?

Looks like a broken neutral problem. So the light in question is splitting 240 volts unequally with something else, as opposed to having 120 volts all its own. The behavior of the something else causes the light in question to get somewhat more than 120 volts for the first half second and somewhat less than 120 volts thereafter. The more than 120 volts for the first half second can be enough to drastically shorten the life of the bulb.

ry turning off all of the breakers except for the breaker for the light in question. If the light does not come on now then try the other breakers to see which one makes the light come on. This way you will find the circuit sharing the neutral that is now broken. (If you took the inner cover off of the panel you can more quickly find the other breaker for the circuit sharing the neutral since both breaker wires will go into the same cable exiting the box.)
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 08-30-2012 at 07:07 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 11:46 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,629
Rewards Points: 2,166
Default

fixture lights partially


Quote:
Originally Posted by fromme87 View Post
There are 2 outdoor fixtures above my garage which were both burnt out.
Quote:
Originally Posted by fromme87 View Post
I am fairly certain there is no switch tied to the lights as well as i cannot find a photocell or motion detector.
So with no switch, photocell or motion detectors, these 2 outdoor fixtures if they worked properly would remain lit 24 hours a day?
hammerlane is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hammerlane For This Useful Post:
Missouri Bound (08-30-2012)
Old 08-30-2012, 07:35 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

fixture lights partially


I hope this helps, I measured the voltage with the light dimly lit. It measured 52 volts then...i unscrewed the bulb and and it jumped back to 125v. ideas?
fromme87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 07:47 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

fixture lights partially


How many bulbs glow dim orange?

If you unscrewed one, does the other go out or get brighter or do anything different?

Are there other receptacles or lights on the same circuit? Does the voltage at those light fixtures (with the bulbs still screwed in) change when you unscrew the dim bulb?

You either have a loose connection or something incorrectly wired.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 07:50 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

fixture lights partially


there are 2 fixtures that both glow but i had the other fixture unhooked. Im going to get in the attic and check where those lights tie into the others because the rest of those have no problem.
fromme87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 08:06 PM   #12
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

fixture lights partially


Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ View Post

If you unscrewed one, does the other go out or get brighter or do anything different?

You either have a loose connection or something incorrectly wired.
Very astute observation.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 11:50 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

fixture lights partially


i tried leaving the lights on and shutting off the other breakers one by one with no change in behavior. I also checked the connections all of which look good. I think my next step is to just run new wire from the junction to a test light and see if that light has the same behavior. I hate troubleshooting other peoples work!
fromme87 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to fromme87 For This Useful Post:
Missouri Bound (09-03-2012)
Old 09-03-2012, 11:40 AM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

fixture lights partially


Well as it turns out, the lights were on a timer in the wall and it was not working. I replaced the timer and everything is working now.
fromme87 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to fromme87 For This Useful Post:
bob22 (09-03-2012)
Old 09-04-2012, 06:30 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,629
Rewards Points: 2,166
Default

fixture lights partially


Quote:
Originally Posted by fromme87 View Post
Well as it turns out, the lights were on a timer
well go figure

Advertisement

hammerlane is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
After replacing a light fixture the fan is not working but the lights do aniamaja Electrical 9 07-14-2011 09:23 AM
wiring lights from existing light fixture raineydr Electrical 6 03-25-2010 06:18 PM
Installing One Light Fixture Causes Another Not To Work pythagras Electrical 2 07-02-2009 09:15 PM
double-ended halogen fixture bulbs stop working watt-ever-ny Electrical 6 11-20-2007 06:25 PM
Old house, new light fixture, too many wires Persephonee Electrical 3 01-15-2007 09:58 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts