Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-20-2013, 11:45 PM   #16
Child Alert! Pull Up!
 
fltdek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Posts: 138
Share |
Default

Fixing an Idiot mistake


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbert78 View Post
If you are referring to the Orange Extension Cord that I mentioned then I found this when I was running my new line to the new lights.

Replace it at all cost! not worth the chance of knowing that the individual who used it has no clue! and if it is in a wall or ceiling, thats a big no no! As you will read on most if not all extension cords, they are clearly marked "for temporary use only"

fltdek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 11:49 PM   #17
Child Alert! Pull Up!
 
fltdek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Posts: 138
Default

Fixing an Idiot mistake


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbert78 View Post
Yes my new lights that I installed work perfect. I can even get one of the two other lights to work, but am having trouble figuring out why this other light won't work. After getting one of them to work I used a Non-Contact Voltage Tester on the other and it shows that I'm getting power, but still nothing. Even tried changing the bulb!

Your NCV tester is prone to pick up what we sometimes refer to as "bleeding" from another source wire. They are not fool proof and can be misleading, most especially when multiple wires are run close together, or in a box. Don't rely entirely on it.
fltdek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 11:49 PM   #18
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,335
Default

Fixing an Idiot mistake


I'm guessing you are missing a neutral at that second fixture. I have no idea how this was originally wired as you cannot (legally get two switch legs out of a cable consisting of only 2 insulated conductors.

The only choices I can give you are:
1) run a new cable to the fixture that doesn't work
2) call an electrician to troubleshoot the problem

I highly suggest #2 because he can tell you if he sees any other dangerous violations. It sounds as you have some really jacked up stuff going on in there and they could possibly be a danger to your property or person.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.



Last edited by k_buz; 01-20-2013 at 11:54 PM.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
jbert78 (01-20-2013), NJMarine (01-21-2013)
Old 01-20-2013, 11:55 PM   #19
Child Alert! Pull Up!
 
fltdek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Posts: 138
Default

Fixing an Idiot mistake


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
I highly suggest #2 because he can tell you if he sees any other dangerous violations. It sounds as you have some really jacked up stuff going on in there and they could possibly be a danger to your property or person.

Absolutley agree, trying to do something on your own, is notable, saving your life is worth every penny spent. You must have to wonder, what other kind of half ass work did the former owner do? I'd have a difficult time sleeping at night.
fltdek is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to fltdek For This Useful Post:
jbert78 (01-21-2013)
Old 01-21-2013, 12:01 AM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
Default

Fixing an Idiot mistake


After seeing that Extension cord being used, I knew it was illegal and was going to replace it anyways. I know NCV tester is not totally reliable, but it did help. When there was no power going to the light, I got no beeping on the tester. I just use it for a quick test or double check there is no power. Thanks for the Help everyone. I'm going to run a new line for now and get a Licensed Electrician in here when I can afford one.
jbert78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 12:08 AM   #21
Child Alert! Pull Up!
 
fltdek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Posts: 138
Default

Fixing an Idiot mistake


Be safe! Any other questions, be sure to post them here, we'll do what we can for you to your level of comfortness. There's no failure throwing in the towel and calling an electrician! Good luck!
fltdek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 06:56 AM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Default

Fixing an Idiot mistake


Still cannot understand how you have 2 lights(existing kitchen light and the mudroom light) controlled by 2 separate switches with only a 2 conductor cable W/ ground originating at the switch location. What was used for the switch leg for one of the lights??
Attached Thumbnails
Fixing an Idiot mistake-new-bitmap-image-3-.jpg  

Last edited by hammerlane; 01-21-2013 at 06:58 AM.
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 07:49 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,304
Default

Fixing an Idiot mistake


Three lights ?
Three wires ?
Where is the missing wire ?
Not including neutral and earth,
you need at least four wires !
1 - Main hot in.
2 - Feed to light -1.
3 - Feed to light -2.
4 - Feed to light - 3.
Minimum total = 4.

Maybe Nicoli Tesla instaled it !
Wireless power !
dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 11:00 AM   #24
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
Default

Fixing an Idiot mistake


Quote:
Originally Posted by dmxtothemax View Post
Three lights ?
Three wires ?
Where is the missing wire ?
Not including neutral and earth,
you need at least four wires !
1 - Main hot in.
2 - Feed to light -1.
3 - Feed to light -2.
4 - Feed to light - 3.
Minimum total = 4.

Maybe Nicoli Tesla instaled it !
Wireless power !
I have all my lights working now cause I just ran a new line after chatting with k_buz and fltdek. When I took the 3 gang box out to run my new line, I used my iphone and took a picture on the inner wall and I was not missing any wires. I took the light down and saw they taped the neutral to be hot as an end circuit connection. k_buz thought someone installed it using the uninsulated ground as the hot, but that was not the case here. I don't know who did the electrical in this house before we moved in, but I'm going to find out.
jbert78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 12:11 PM   #25
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,335
Default

Fixing an Idiot mistake


If the white was connected to the black of the fixture, what was connected to the white of the fixture?

How many cables were existing at the fixture before you added the new cable?

I will wait for these answers before I clarify what I actually thought.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 12:54 PM   #26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
Default

Fixing an Idiot mistake


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
If the white was connected to the black of the fixture, what was connected to the white of the fixture?

How many cables were existing at the fixture before you added the new cable?

I will wait for these answers before I clarify what I actually thought.

There were 5 wires! 3 from the light itself and 2 from the Romex cable. The ground was cut very short with to attach to. The white was connected to the black and the black was connected to the white. Does this make any since to you.

There was not even a box in the wall, just the wires and the bracket was held up by two drywall screws. I fixed that though.

jbert78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need URGENT help with question regarding fixing electrical panel in home asledge Electrical 66 02-22-2013 04:49 PM
Fixing my Durock Mistake ScubaGeekNC Flooring 12 05-24-2012 07:48 PM
Fixing a side gate.. ariscus99 General DIY Discussions 6 10-20-2011 05:34 PM
fixing a mistake igneous Painting 6 11-11-2010 07:31 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.