Fixing An Idiot Mistake - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2013, 04:00 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Fixing an Idiot mistake


I recently added two recessed lights in the kitchen and ran them for their own switch. I had to expand my wire box from double to triple, but my problem is hooking back up the other two switches. Before I started removing switches I should have labeled but I did not (which is my idiot mistake). I have one supply and two out going lines. One of the out going lines is the added line. I can not remember how to hook up the other two light switches that operate two existing lights. I have tried hooking them up but only can get one light to work and the other shows power to it, but does not work. I even replaced the bulb thinking it might have blown. Help please!

Advertisement

jbert78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 04:51 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,388
Rewards Points: 3,570
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Fixing an Idiot mistake


you have not provided enough info. Tell us about all the cables and wires in the switch box. Don't care about the grounds. They all get hooked together.

Advertisement

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 06:45 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: western Ny
Posts: 1,255
Rewards Points: 524
Default

Fixing an Idiot mistake


got a picture?
danpik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 09:44 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,721
Rewards Points: 2,402
Default

Fixing an Idiot mistake


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbert78 View Post
I recently added two recessed lights in the kitchen and ran them for their own switch. I had to expand my wire box from double to triple, but my problem is hooking back up the other two switches. Before I started removing switches I should have labeled but I did not (which is my idiot mistake). I have one supply and two out going lines. One of the out going lines is the added line. I can not remember how to hook up the other two light switches that operate two existing lights. I have tried hooking them up but only can get one light to work and the other shows power to it, but does not work. I even replaced the bulb thinking it might have blown. Help please!

Why was the existing box a double ?
Did it control one light or two ?
What did it control ?

Tell us more about the amount of wires ? and there colors ?
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 10:05 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Fixing an Idiot mistake


Fixing an Idiot mistake-wiring.jpg

joed and danpik hope this helps for any help that you can give.

dmxtothemax - I don't know why it was a double. It was like that when we bought the house. Each switch controlled a separate light.

I know the Grounds are wire nutted together.
jbert78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 10:13 PM   #6
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Fixing an Idiot mistake


Did the original two switch each control a separate fixture? If so, your drawing is not correct. You would either be missing a wire, or someone illegally used the uninsulated ground as a neutral and it cannot be put back that way.

If not, fixing this should be easy.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
jbert78 (01-21-2013)
Old 01-21-2013, 12:01 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Fixing an Idiot mistake


k_buz - The original two switches controlled separate fixtures! I'm not missing a wire and my drawing is correct to what I see in the box. I don't remember unhooking a uninsulated ground from any of the side terminals.

I thought they split the hot to go to the bottom of one terminal (A) and to the top of another (B). Then used the black out going on the top terminal (A) and the white outgoing on the bottom (B), which did not work.

I hope I'm just over looking something.
jbert78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 12:09 AM   #8
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Fixing an Idiot mistake


Unless there is a different neutral at the fixtures (which is still illegal) they would have had to use the uninsulated ground as the neutral. Do you remember any bare wires connected to a white wire?

The other option, that I didn't think about at first, is that they hooked the bare ground up to the neutral at the fixture. If this is the case, its a very dangerous situation. You could have current running on any grounded metal connected to that circuit.

You are going to need to pull the existing fixtures down to determine how they are wired.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.



Last edited by k_buz; 01-21-2013 at 12:14 AM.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 12:16 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Fixing an Idiot mistake


I don't believe any uninsulated grounds where connected to a neutral. It would not surprise me if this was an illegal setup cause I have found some very odd cob jobs through out this house.

Let me ask you this, is it illegal to use an orange electrical cord with its ends cut off to connect a light from a junction box?
jbert78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 12:17 AM   #10
Child Alert! Pull Up!
 
fltdek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Posts: 138
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Fixing an Idiot mistake


Sorry, we're having a very difficult time understanding your schematics. It cannot make logic sense. If your you have three wires coming into the 3 gang box, one of which is the hot (supply), one which you installed going to your recessed lights, and the last one was originally there? Is it at all possible when you replaced the 2 gang with the 3 gang, you forgot or left out a wire? Reason being, is that minus your wire you ran to the recessed, that only leaves you with two wires. One supply, and one delivery, two lights, on two separate switches, cannot be both wired from one wire, unless its 3 conductor like 14/3?
fltdek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 12:23 AM   #11
Child Alert! Pull Up!
 
fltdek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Posts: 138
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Fixing an Idiot mistake


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbert78 View Post

Let me ask you this, is it illegal to use an orange electrical cord with its ends cut off to connect a light from a junction box?

1. Why? You want to or someone already has?
2. A little more description would be helpful (what size cord, what type of light?
fltdek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 12:23 AM   #12
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Fixing an Idiot mistake


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbert78 View Post
I don't believe any uninsulated grounds where connected to a neutral. It would not surprise me if this was an illegal setup cause I have found some very odd cob jobs through out this house.

Let me ask you this, is it illegal to use an orange electrical cord with its ends cut off to connect a light from a junction box?
Not even close.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 12:26 AM   #13
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Fixing an Idiot mistake


Do the new lights you just installed work properly?
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 12:37 AM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Fixing an Idiot mistake


Quote:
Originally Posted by fltdek View Post
1. Why? You want to or someone already has?
2. A little more description would be helpful (what size cord, what type of light?
If you are referring to the Orange Extension Cord that I mentioned then I found this when I was running my new line to the new lights.
jbert78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 12:43 AM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Fixing an Idiot mistake


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Do the new lights you just installed work properly?
Yes my new lights that I installed work perfect. I can even get one of the two other lights to work, but am having trouble figuring out why this other light won't work. After getting one of them to work I used a Non-Contact Voltage Tester on the other and it shows that I'm getting power, but still nothing. Even tried changing the bulb!

Advertisement

jbert78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need URGENT help with question regarding fixing electrical panel in home asledge Electrical 66 02-22-2013 05:49 PM
Fixing my Durock Mistake ScubaGeekNC Flooring 12 05-24-2012 08:48 PM
Fixing a side gate.. ariscus99 General DIY Discussions 6 10-20-2011 06:34 PM
fixing a mistake igneous Painting 6 11-11-2010 08:31 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts