Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-07-2011, 09:23 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 1,743
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Fitting wires in a box.


Wiring two switches with a single feed in a box. Switch 1 operates one outdoor light. Switch 2 operates two runs of undercabinet lights. Am using a standard double plastic old work box. Should I look for a deeper box or should all of this fit?

Jim F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 09:26 AM   #2
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Fitting wires in a box.


What size wire is being used and how many cubic inches is the box? The cu in should be embossed in the plastic box.

a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 09:36 AM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,598
Rewards Points: 30
Default

Fitting wires in a box.


Unless you have extra cables in the box you should be well under the maximum capacity of the box. Provide the info Ae7 asked for and someone can confirm.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 08:02 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 1,743
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Fitting wires in a box.


Sorry, 14/2 and I believe it is a 25 cubic inch, does that sound right? This is the box http://electrical.hardwarestore.com/...ox-289470.aspx
And to add to the fun, the bottom wing snapped off twice while working the wires.
Jim F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 08:22 PM   #5
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Fitting wires in a box.


You are good for capacity.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to a7ecorsair For This Useful Post:
Jim F (03-07-2011)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is this normal? 20A circuit 20A wires feed 15A wires walt1122 Electrical 14 02-06-2010 02:44 PM
Fitting dimmer switch to old electrical wiring hugomax69 Electrical 0 01-29-2010 07:40 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM
Two black wires with one white! Please help! ibs325 Electrical 15 11-18-2007 09:38 PM
Old house, new light fixture, too many wires Persephonee Electrical 3 01-15-2007 08:58 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.