Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-08-2012, 02:02 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

fitting security light using fused connection unit


Hi guys.

Good looking forum here. i have tried searching for this with no luck.

My question is

i am looking to install a motion sensored security light outside. its a 150w halogen flood light.

my plan was to use a double socket outlet in my bedroom and drill directly behind to outside where the light will be fitted.

i will then feed the cable through and fit a dual gang box behind capable of housing 2 single sockets.

i was then going to fit a fused connection unit(13 amp but unsure of this correct rating as i read i should only need a 5a for 150w?) i was going to terminate the light along with the spare power feed to the fcu.

on the other side will be a single socket which will house the other power cable.

Will this work?


I have thought of of just feeding cable through and reconnecting plug and plugging into socket directly but i did not want this as i wanted it to be hidden.

I look forward to ur replies.

Regards

brett

br3ttwilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 02:14 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,893
Default

fitting security light using fused connection unit


Nothing your suggesting sounds even remotly legal or logical.
Where do you plan on mounting this to the house?
Got a picture of the light fixture?

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 02:40 PM   #3
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,944
Default

fitting security light using fused connection unit


What are you calling a "fused connection unit"? Are you in the USA?
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 04:21 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
Default

fitting security light using fused connection unit


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
Nothing your suggesting sounds even remotly legal or logical.
Where do you plan on mounting this to the house?
Got a picture of the light fixture?
As stated in my post i plan on drilling out directly behind where my double socket is located in my bedroom.

Its just a basic halogen flood light. am on my phone so can not upload photo.

Tbh whats not logical about this. its basically replacing a double socket with a new back dual gang box and then putting a single socket and a fcu. rather than having the plug directly plugged into the socket.
br3ttwilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 04:22 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
Default

fitting security light using fused connection unit


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
What are you calling a "fused connection unit"? Are you in the USA?

Google fused connection unit?
br3ttwilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 04:33 PM   #6
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,944
Default

fitting security light using fused connection unit


Quote:
Originally Posted by br3ttwilson View Post
Google fused connection unit?


Why should I? You are the one looking for info.

This is primarily a US/Canada based site and methinks you are not in either. Although there is a electrician in France who posts regularly.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 05:54 PM   #7
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,409
Default

fitting security light using fused connection unit


He is in the UK. He is attempting to spur off of a ring circuit.
I guess he doesn't realize that ring circuits are more British than driving on the wrong side of the road.
:-)

Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't get unit to turn on need electrical help please-wiring diagram included igotshocked Electrical 33 01-30-2014 05:13 AM
Problem with Air Handler wiring connection to Outdoor Unit & Thermostat miamikk HVAC 0 09-29-2009 07:02 PM
Please Help! 3 way switches controling 2 light fxtures. HelloMotto Electrical 50 09-01-2009 08:20 PM
Adding a light to an existing 3-way connection nthomp16 Electrical 2 07-21-2008 06:57 PM
Motion Sensor to Flood Light Unit TTran Electrical 3 05-31-2008 09:50 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.