Fishing Wire...any Tips? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-09-2011, 06:30 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: California
Posts: 170
Rewards Points: 184
Default

Fishing wire...any tips?


I am in the process of running new electrical wire for my new sub panel. I have all of the circuits ran except one, and it is giving me fits. I am trying to fish the wire through a wall that has a fire block and a diagonal 2x4. I can't get my 54" drill bit to bite into the diagonal and it doesn't help that I'm exhausted from a whole day's work...

Any tips for how to deal with the diagonal 2x4? If it takes too much longer, I might just tear down all of the plaster

Advertisement

loftezy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 07:51 PM   #2
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,226
Rewards Points: 2,362
Default

Fishing wire...any tips?


Cut a hole around the fire stop (I use a 5" hole saw) and drill a hole thru the blocking. Patch the plaster or drywall.

Advertisement

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2011, 11:22 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: California
Posts: 170
Rewards Points: 184
Default

Fishing wire...any tips?


Thanks for the advice. I literally spent hours trying to fish my last wire through the stupid fire block and diagonal 2x4, all because I didn't want to damage the plaster

That wasn't a good idea. In the end, I took your advice and cut a hole in the plaster to help fish the wire through the 2x4s and it took me about 15 minutes. Next time I fish wire, I'm going to cut holes as soon as I encounter any resistance in the walls and just patch the holes later.

The good news is that my new sub panel is installed and everything works fine now.
loftezy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2011, 01:51 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dalton, GA
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Fishing wire...any tips?


You might be interested in http://www.10FtDrillBit.com. It is made to solve your problem.

Last edited by wb4rt; 07-11-2011 at 02:09 PM.
wb4rt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2011, 04:07 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 270
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Fishing wire...any tips?


The diagonal braces are a real pain. You might try opening up a small hole above or below where you want to drill through and drilling the hole from there. Do you have any other routes that you could take and avoid that stud bay? Sometimes it's easier to find another way if it is too much hassle.
teamo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What type wire to use from transfer switch to outdoor outlet brjl Electrical 32 11-20-2013 09:36 AM
Changing Two Gang Outlet to Three Gang Outlet vbullinger Electrical 9 01-10-2011 06:13 PM
3 Wire Set Up . . . Neutral Wire Tied to Ground Wires irishMonster Electrical 14 10-21-2010 09:20 AM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 10:41 PM
Stranded wire on screw connections BigJimmy Electrical 7 01-19-2008 03:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts