First Time Wiring, Seeking Some Input - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-22-2012, 09:07 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

First time wiring, seeking some input


Hey guys, to start I'm 23, just moved into my first house, and hoping to learn a little bit about wiring. One of the immediate things I noticed is that there is not an electrical outlet on the outside patio. However there is a light fixture, and my hope is to run a wire straight down out of the fixture to an external outlet. By doing this I'm trying to avoid cutting or drilling into the brick and running wires through to the switch.

Easy enough, except I'm hoping I can somehow make it to where this outlet gets constant power, rather than having it only get power when the light is on. I'm not sure how to do this. I attached a picture to show what I'm working with. Any help is appreciated!
Attached Thumbnails
First time wiring, seeking some input-light-fixture-wires.jpg  

Advertisement

treardon89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 09:14 PM   #2
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,163
Rewards Points: 2,118
Default

First time wiring, seeking some input


Quote:
Originally Posted by treardon89
Hey guys, to start I'm 23, just moved into my first house, and hoping to learn a little bit about wiring. One of the immediate things I noticed is that there is not an electrical outlet on the outside patio. However there is a light fixture, and my hope is to run a wire straight down out of the fixture to an external outlet. By doing this I'm trying to avoid cutting or drilling into the brick and running wires through to the switch.

Easy enough, except I'm hoping I can somehow make it to where this outlet gets constant power, rather than having it only get power when the light is on. I'm not sure how to do this. I attached a picture to show what I'm working with. Any help is appreciated!
Eh, not going to happen, best bet is to just rent a drill and core bore a hole through the masonry.

Advertisement

stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 09:17 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

First time wiring, seeking some input


Ok thanks. That's what I was afraid of.
treardon89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 09:22 PM   #4
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,163
Rewards Points: 2,118
Default

First time wiring, seeking some input


Quote:
Originally Posted by treardon89
Ok thanks. That's what I was afraid of.
One thing I would look into is a receptacle on the other side of the outside wall, that's where I would drill, this will make life easier in feeding your new receptacle.... If the grout lines are soft it will be easy drilling.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 09:24 PM   #5
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

First time wiring, seeking some input


Round weather proof extension box and EMT to a WP box. Then I would take the light off the switch, wire it up hot, and install a photocell in the extension box.

The other option other than installing a photocell, is purchasing a new fixture with a built in motion detector.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.



Last edited by k_buz; 07-22-2012 at 09:26 PM.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 09:27 PM   #6
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,163
Rewards Points: 2,118
Default

First time wiring, seeking some input


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz
Round weather proof extension box and EMT to a WP box. Then I would take the light off the switch, wire it up hot, and install a photocell in the extension box.

The other option other than installing a photocell, is purchasing a new fixture with a built in motion detector.
Just my opinion, but that is going to look ugly as ugly gets.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 09:32 PM   #7
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

First time wiring, seeking some input


But someone with no experience drilling and fishing thru brick is not going to go well.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 09:42 PM   #8
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,163
Rewards Points: 2,118
Default

First time wiring, seeking some input


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz
But someone with no experience drilling and fishing thru brick is not going to go well.
Yeah, I'll agree with that, at least he'll be able to make your idea work with very little skill involved. I get caught up in the aesthetic part of the job.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 09:57 PM   #9
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

First time wiring, seeking some input


Oh don't get me wrong, it wouldn't be my first choice. But my setup sometimes looks a lot more ascetically pleasing when they see the difference in cost.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
LooseSCruz (07-22-2012), stickboy1375 (07-22-2012)
Old 07-22-2012, 10:00 PM   #10
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,163
Rewards Points: 2,118
Default

First time wiring, seeking some input


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Oh don't get me wrong, it wouldn't be my first choice. But my setup sometimes looks a lot more ascetically pleasing when they see the difference in cost.
I can imagine, I generally don't get the chance to work for that type of cliental, we usually have to bend over backwards and wave our magic wands to make the wiring disappear.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 10:03 PM   #11
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

First time wiring, seeking some input


Now a days, the type of client that is price conscious is the norm vs the one that just wants it done.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 10:25 PM   #12
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,651
Rewards Points: 2,616
Default

First time wiring, seeking some input


A bigger issue is that the ckt may not support an outlet.

If that is a light...chances are it's a 15a ckt with 14/2 wiring. Outlets are typically 20a ckts with 12/2 wiring.

You don't have an outlet somewhere on the other side of that wall?
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 10:33 PM   #13
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,163
Rewards Points: 2,118
Default

First time wiring, seeking some input


Quote:
Originally Posted by ddawg16 View Post
A bigger issue is that the ckt may not support an outlet.

If that is a light...chances are it's a 15a ckt with 14/2 wiring. Outlets are typically 20a ckts with 12/2 wiring.

You don't have an outlet somewhere on the other side of that wall?

Just to be noted, I never use 12-2 except for the required circuits, so to say typical is a little far from the truth.... it's a design choice, You would be much better off with two 14-2 circuits than one 12-2 circuit, just to put it into perspective.

Last edited by stickboy1375; 07-22-2012 at 11:56 PM.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 11:17 PM   #14
"So I Re-Wired It"
 
MisterZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NorthEast USA
Posts: 258
Rewards Points: 250
Default

First time wiring, seeking some input


Nobody asked where the switch is in relation to this light. Its not likely, but if the switch is on the same wall as the light he may be able to fish a new 14/3 line with some effort.

Personally i agree with kbuz tho. Wire the light hot and put in a sensor light
MisterZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 11:55 PM   #15
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,015
Rewards Points: 2,828
Default

First time wiring, seeking some input


Quote:
Originally Posted by ddawg16 View Post
A bigger issue is that the ckt may not support an outlet.

If that is a light...chances are it's a 15a ckt with 14/2 wiring. Outlets are typically 20a ckts with 12/2 wiring.

You don't have an outlet somewhere on the other side of that wall?
I would bet in most houses in America only the code mandated 20 amp circuits are installed and the majority are only 15 amp.

Advertisement

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
stickboy1375 (07-22-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Seeking advice for wiring in hot-tub. YerDugliness Electrical 47 03-18-2012 12:35 AM
Low budget concrete patio, sections at a time... vertigoelectric Flooring 0 01-29-2012 05:13 PM
Mechanical timer wiring? Duane 70 Electrical 5 06-16-2010 09:57 PM
Wiring Tradeline L6006C Aquastat to Lennox CBWMV Hydronic Air Handler VIPSpecialNeeds HVAC 5 03-15-2010 07:37 PM
Garage - Protecting wiring installation eastment Electrical 4 11-26-2005 12:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts