First Time With Old Style Fuses In Fuse Panel - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-19-2007, 06:10 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Fountain Valley, CA 92708 (orange county)
Posts: 660
Rewards Points: 504
Default

First time with old style fuses in fuse panel


This is the first time I've had to deal with old type screw in fuses. I have two questions:

1) Are you really supposed to shut off the fixtures before pulling out the fuses? Usually I test what part of the house breakers serve by seeing which lights go off when I click one off (my breakers panels are old and have no labels). It will take me a while to find the right fuse if I can't test them that way.

2) Are they safe to handle? I've read you unscrew them by holding the insulated outside rim.

Thanks

Advertisement

darsunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2007, 06:29 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Rewards Points: 500
Default

First time with old style fuses in fuse panel


If there is a large load turned on while you unscrew the fuse (or screw it in) there could be an arc inside the panel that can melt the fuse and the place where it screws into.

You handle them carefully so that you don't get burnt by the arc.

Advertisement

__________________
Master Electrician
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2007, 07:43 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Fountain Valley, CA 92708 (orange county)
Posts: 660
Rewards Points: 504
Default

First time with old style fuses in fuse panel


Thanks. I was going to take precautions anyways, but now I know what I am guarding against.

I do switch breakers off and on all the time when lights are on. Is there any risk to this?
darsunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2007, 04:53 PM   #4
Master Electrician
 
JohnJ0906's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 332
Rewards Points: 250
Default

First time with old style fuses in fuse panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by darsunt View Post
I do switch breakers off and on all the time when lights are on. Is there any risk to this?
No. A breaker is designed to open under load... overload even.
You wouldn't want to REMOVE the breaker under load. This would be the equivalent of removing a fuse under load.
__________________
John from Baltimore
One Day at a Time
"Experience is what you get when you were expecting something else"
"The bitterness of low quality lingers long after the sweetness of low cost is forgotten"
JohnJ0906 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Glass Fuse Panel box question? pouncerw Electrical 4 10-05-2009 10:01 PM
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 08:40 PM
breaker panel question chadvavra Electrical 11 08-10-2007 10:20 AM
Splice in Neutral to Panel - OK or Not? allpraisebob Electrical 4 08-12-2006 06:54 AM
fuse went BANG davej Electrical 1 01-23-2006 01:37 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts