Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-15-2010, 09:21 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 27
Share |
Default

Fire Pump Bypass


I am a fairly accomplished JOATMAN, but this one has me stumped. Which means it is probably a simple answer!

What is used for the box identified in the pic below? I have read NFPA 20 and NEC 695 (particularly .3 & .4).

Since the tap has to be provided with service rated equipment and installed in accordance with requirements for service entrance conductors, what do you use to make this tap?

I don't want to use the option for a disconnect with an associated alarm. So I am trying to figure out what that 'hard' tap looks like.



Last edited by FIA Ranch; 01-17-2010 at 09:48 AM.
FIA Ranch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 10:50 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

Fire Pump Bypass


I think its a contactor. But I have no idea what turns on this contactor. Maybe a "fire"? I am guessing.

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 02:30 PM   #3
CodeEnforcer
 
HIVOLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 125
Default

Fire Pump Bypass


It's the fire pump controller which needs to be supplied with its own seperate power supply and usually its own meter.
HIVOLT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 02:35 PM   #4
CodeEnforcer
 
HIVOLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 125
Default

Fire Pump Bypass


http://ecmweb.com/mag/electric_abcs_fire_pump/
HIVOLT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2010, 07:04 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 27
Default

Fire Pump Bypass


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
I think its a contactor. But I have no idea what turns on this contactor. Maybe a "fire"? I am guessing.
Let's all give J.V. a nice round of applause! He will be appearing at the Comedy Works all weekend. Call for showtimes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by HIVOLT View Post
It's the fire pump controller which needs to be supplied with its own seperate power supply and usually its own meter.
In a residential application, the fire pump controller is typically "tapped" between the meter socket and main disconnect (as shown), as an alternative to seperate service entrance. The question is how that tap is performed:
1) Without using a non-fused disconnect which requires an associated alarm if the disconnect is pulled.
2) The parts used must be Service Equipment rated.

Sounds like a simple problem, insert a Type 3R junction box and perform the tap. That is until you start looking for Service Equipment rated Power Distribution Blocks (1port to 2port). The Service Equipment rating being required since the tap is ahead of the main disconnect. Haven't found any yet. Hence the question.

Last edited by FIA Ranch; 01-16-2010 at 07:06 AM.
FIA Ranch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2010, 07:07 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 719
Default

Fire Pump Bypass


Do you mean a transfer switch tied with a generator?

I believe the pump starts on a lose of pressure in the system.
SULTINI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2010, 07:15 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: central virginia mountains
Posts: 1,857
Default

Fire Pump Bypass


are we talking fire sprinklers?
tpolk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2010, 07:17 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 27
Default

Fire Pump Bypass


Quote:
Originally Posted by SULTINI View Post
Do you mean a transfer switch tied with a generator?

I believe the pump starts on a lose of pressure in the system.
There is a generator transfer switch. But it is associated with the Fire pump controller, which is fed from the tap ahead of the main disconnect.
FIA Ranch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2010, 07:18 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 27
Default

Fire Pump Bypass


Quote:
Originally Posted by tpolk View Post
are we talking fire sprinklers?
Yes, that is why the reference to NFPA 20 and NEC 695.3 & 4
FIA Ranch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2010, 07:22 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: central virginia mountains
Posts: 1,857
Default

Fire Pump Bypass


why the pump ? not city fed? our suppression systems were on constant
tpolk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2010, 07:29 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 27
Default

Fire Pump Bypass


Quote:
Originally Posted by tpolk View Post
why the pump ? not city fed? our suppression systems were on constant
8500 feet up in the colorado mtns. 15,000 gal storage dedicated to fire supression.
FIA Ranch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2010, 07:33 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: central virginia mountains
Posts: 1,857
Default

Fire Pump Bypass


whats the prob with alarmed disconnect tied to the alarm company
tpolk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2010, 07:41 AM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 27
Default

Fire Pump Bypass


Quote:
Originally Posted by tpolk View Post
whats the prob with alarmed disconnect tied to the alarm company
That is not the type of alarm that the code requires for this application.
FIA Ranch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2010, 07:46 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: central virginia mountains
Posts: 1,857
Default

Fire Pump Bypass


there is another post on here where the electric co. allowed a second tap at the meter cab, was poco i believe
tpolk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2010, 08:07 AM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 27
Default

Fire Pump Bypass


Quote:
Originally Posted by tpolk View Post
there is another post on here where the electric co. allowed a second tap at the meter cab, was poco i believe

That is the easiest way. That was the first choice. Went down that path. Specifically identified "lugs for multiple conductors" are required per NEC, and the rural electric co-op meter panel does not have multiple conductor lugs. So the tap has to be external to the meter panel.


Last edited by FIA Ranch; 01-16-2010 at 08:53 AM.
FIA Ranch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to find out why your pool pump is not fully priming tripflex How To Guides 6 07-13-2011 06:31 PM
Low Well Pressure, Submersible Well Pump, Help Please! tpolk Plumbing 7 11-13-2009 06:13 PM
Well Pump Problems dannyjoe Plumbing 6 10-01-2009 06:10 PM
Modification to an existing pump switch DRBLKJK Electrical 10 08-23-2009 03:06 PM
Sump Pump Questions henlij Plumbing 19 08-12-2009 07:50 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.