Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-23-2008, 02:45 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 30
Share |
Default

fire in outside electrical box


I was having problems with a circuit at my house, and I just discovered that there was one more outlet on the circuit i didn't know about. outside. I took the receptacle out to discover the all the wires are melted together the entire back of receptacle is gone and have a nice pile of ash in the box. now what i need help with is how do i go about replacing this receptacle (yes, when i do i will buy a much better outside cover than what was installed when house was built) it is in a brick wall and I need to run new wire is it worth the trouble or should I just forget it and scrap that receptacle from the circuit.

samiller1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2008, 02:57 PM   #2
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Default

fire in outside electrical box


Quote:
Originally Posted by samiller1980 View Post
I was having problems with a circuit at my house, and I just discovered that there was one more outlet on the circuit i didn't know about. outside. I took the receptacle out to discover the all the wires are melted together the entire back of receptacle is gone and have a nice pile of ash in the box. now what i need help with is how do i go about replacing this receptacle (yes, when i do i will buy a much better outside cover than what was installed when house was built) it is in a brick wall and I need to run new wire is it worth the trouble or should I just forget it and scrap that receptacle from the circuit.
Was this a GFCI receptacle? As far as replacing the wire or getting rid of it altogether, well, that's up to you and the level of involvement you are comfortable with. How far away is the receptacle inside that this is fed from?

InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2008, 03:02 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 30
Default

fire in outside electrical box


the first receptacle in the series is GFCI it is in the garage. as for the distance from the receptacle before it about 25 ft. but all my wires run through my very small attic, just wondering if maybe the wires are mortared in and can't be removed, didn't know if there was a typical way it was done when houses are built.
samiller1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2008, 03:11 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

fire in outside electrical box


Quote:
Originally Posted by samiller1980 View Post
all the wires are melted together the entire back of receptacle is gone and have a nice pile of ash in the box.
If the melting was due to local heating (bad connection and high current draw) the rest of the wire may be good.
If the melting was due to high current and a breaker not tripping, all the wiring insulation is toast but it may still insulate and pass current. Just don't flex it.
Take a close look.

Last edited by Yoyizit; 12-23-2008 at 03:13 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2008, 03:18 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 30
Default

fire in outside electrical box


i would need to run new wire because it is all melted to almost where it comes into box and there is not enough there to work with
samiller1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2008, 03:31 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

fire in outside electrical box


Quote:
Originally Posted by samiller1980 View Post
i would need to run new wire because it is all melted to almost where it comes into box and there is not enough there to work with
Soldering to tiny stubs, or removing the box and soldering to somewhat longer stubs, or running some new wire with a new junction box, or running all new wire.
What to do, what to do. . .?
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2008, 03:49 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Default

fire in outside electrical box


Quote:
Originally Posted by samiller1980 View Post
the first receptacle in the series is GFCI it is in the garage. as for the distance from the receptacle before it about 25 ft. but all my wires run through my very small attic, just wondering if maybe the wires are mortared in and can't be removed, didn't know if there was a typical way it was done when houses are built.
How about the one just before this damaged one. Have you checked this one? How important is having a receptacle at this location? If its difficult to run a new cable, abandon this one, after its disconnected. Then, install another one somewhere else,thats easier to feed.
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2008, 03:54 PM   #8
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Default

fire in outside electrical box


Wires for outside receptacles are usually run through the walls like any other wiring inside the house. You may be able to pull the box out and fish a new wire in, then replace the box. Do you have access over the area such that you can get over it and drill a hole into the wall?

There may just be some fiber or foam insulation behind the brick. You may be able to chisel it out so you can snake your fished wire out.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2008, 04:08 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,202
Default

fire in outside electrical box


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
Soldering to tiny stubs, or removing the box and soldering to somewhat longer stubs, or running some new wire with a new junction box, or running all new wire.
What to do, what to do. . .?
Soldering? Since when is soldering permitted for this type of work?
__________________

KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2008, 06:07 PM   #10
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,530
Default

fire in outside electrical box


Soldering is permitted in a proper junction box just any other form of wire connections. It still needs to be mechanically secure and insulated.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2008, 07:35 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Default

fire in outside electrical box


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
Soldering is permitted in a proper junction box just any other form of wire connections. It still needs to be mechanically secure and insulated.
The Ontario Electrical Safety Code doesn't allow soldering!
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2008, 08:20 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Default

fire in outside electrical box


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildie View Post
The Ontario Electrical Safety Code doesn't allow soldering!

Soldering looks bad, It has great electrical conduction, but I would never do it. Maybe if its on a pcb, where solder belongs.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2008, 08:46 PM   #13
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,530
Default

fire in outside electrical box


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildie View Post
The Ontario Electrical Safety Code doesn't allow soldering!
Code reference please. I want to look it up and see exactly what it says.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2008, 09:29 PM   #14
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Default

fire in outside electrical box


Soldering isn't allowed for the ground wire. Doesn't make any sense, I know. But it's true
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2008, 01:40 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Default

fire in outside electrical box


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
Code reference please. I want to look it up and see exactly what it says.
Joed, I'd like to help you, unfortunately my book is at the cottage, behind 4' of snow! Can you hold off til spring? Once I had some European electricians come to work for me, (my boss hired them) and they soldered each and every connection in a whole new house. The inspector made us unsolder them all, and redo them with wire nuts! Plastic insulation doesn't work well with soldering! I speak from experience!

Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Insulation of interior walls around fire place ODD Calmeier Building & Construction 5 01-31-2010 05:59 PM
why wouldn't circuit breaker prevent fire? fauer Electrical 26 11-28-2008 08:38 PM
Emergency Time Sensitive Post: Electrical fire qustion mahjohn Electrical 7 08-11-2008 05:37 PM
2 Prong Electrical mjcongleton Electrical 10 04-16-2008 08:59 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.