Finishing The Basement - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-09-2007, 12:04 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Finishing the Basement


I have a home in Marion Ia. someone already stripped the concrete walls with 2"x2". I want to install electrical outlets that are shallow enough to fit into the 1.5" wall space. Does this meet code in Marion?

Advertisement

wibass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2007, 03:38 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 330
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Finishing the Basement


If you are finishing your basement, adding a shower and running some electrical....of course you have a permit. Your inspector would be able to answer your question with ease.

Advertisement

send_it_all is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2007, 07:36 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Finishing the Basement


Yes we pulled the permits. It is know the weekend and I was hoping someone could give me some advice. I did not think about the electrical box size untill we pulled the old drywall off while checking for mold. When they drywalled before they installed some face boxes but no wiring? There had been a leak at the old ptio door that ran into the basement that we fixed 2 years ago. Thanks

Last edited by wibass; 06-09-2007 at 07:41 AM.
wibass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2007, 08:16 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Finishing the Basement


A single gang electrical box that fits in a 1.5 in deep space is not large enough to have wires and a device in it by Natioan Code. The volume for these boxes will take up to 3 number 12 or 3 number 14 (individual wires are counted for this not cables). This leaves no volume for the device or clamps.

I suggest you use 4 inch square boxes, and single gang mud rings.
__________________
Master Electrician
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2007, 08:18 AM   #5
Master Electrician
 
JohnJ0906's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 332
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Finishing the Basement


http://www.carlon.com/Master%20Catal...0Boxes_2B1.pdf

Try the 4" square. It's what we would use in this circumstance. 18 cubic inches, plus the ring
__________________
John from Baltimore
One Day at a Time
"Experience is what you get when you were expecting something else"
"The bitterness of low quality lingers long after the sweetness of low cost is forgotten"
JohnJ0906 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2007, 09:09 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Finishing the Basement


Thanks for the information. I have another question about bathroom wiring. I know the bathroom ground fault has to be on a seperate circuit for the gfi outlet. This bathroom will have another wall outlet and a an exhaust fan. Can the other 2 items be on the same circuit as the gfi? Thanks
wibass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2007, 09:36 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Finishing the Basement


If can feed all recepticle outlets in the bath room off of the 20 amp bath gfi circuit. If you feed other things in the bath room, (like the fan) then this circuit must be dedicated to one bath room. You will not be able to use this circuit to feed other bath rooms gfi recepticles.

Wow that is confusing. LOL. The way you are planning it is what I would do. You could even put the lights on this same circuit, but I would not. I would leave them on a lighting circuit.
__________________
Master Electrician
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2007, 07:22 AM   #8
Master Electrician
 
JohnJ0906's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 332
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Finishing the Basement


Is the "other wall outlet" a receptacle? If so, it must be GFCI protected as well. All receptacles in bathrooms are required to have GFCI protection.
These can be on the same circuit. The entire bathroom can be on the same 20 amp circuit, but it has to be limited to this bath only.
Personally, I'm with jwhite. I would have the lights on the lighting circuit, and the fan as well, UNLESS the fan needed GFCI protection. I would then use the bath GFCI to protect it.
__________________
John from Baltimore
One Day at a Time
"Experience is what you get when you were expecting something else"
"The bitterness of low quality lingers long after the sweetness of low cost is forgotten"
JohnJ0906 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2007, 12:54 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 78
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Finishing the Basement


As a personal comment, since you are starting from scratch, if there is a chance that someone, someday, will be using a hair dryer in this bathroom, I would put the GFI receptacle by the mirror on its own 20a circuit. Those things (hair dryers) are getting friggin huge, power-wise. The original circuit in my master bath was 15a, and my wife could only run her hair dryer and the lights over the mirror. If anything else on the circuit was on, it tripped the breaker. She got very tired of walking down two flights of stairs to the box in the basement to reset it - so I had to add another circuit, just for her hair dryer.

At least she knows how to reset a tripped breaker.

Advertisement

pjpjpjpj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basement finishing cost estimate Bill46 Off Topic 8 10-01-2010 08:16 PM
How to 'start' finishing the basement... mcvane Building & Construction 18 06-04-2007 09:28 AM
A newbie basement finishing project DIY4EVER Building & Construction 6 05-11-2007 10:48 AM
Finishing Basement, How to run a heat duct? hyper Remodeling 6 02-23-2007 04:46 PM
Finishing basement - electrical code ??? normwannabe Electrical 1 01-23-2006 08:48 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.
<--
-->