Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-10-2009, 06:37 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 333
Share |
Question

Finding Amp rating of old stove


I have an older Whirlpool stove from the early eighties and I have the original operating and install manuals but I cannot find the amp rating for the stove. Is there anyway to find this out somewhere?

tripower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2009, 06:41 PM   #2
Floor Sweeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central MN
Posts: 353
Default

Finding Amp rating of old stove


It should be on the appliance nameplate, which could be visible when you pull the drawer out (many times it is in that general area) Or on the back.

The rating will probably be in KW, not amps.

junkcollector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2009, 06:50 PM   #3
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,975
Default

Finding Amp rating of old stove


Is this a range (oven and top mounted cooking elements) or a countertop style with cooking elements only?

Why are you wanting to know... Are wanting to be sure of the correct branch circuit before hooking it up??
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2009, 07:28 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 333
Default

Finding Amp rating of old stove


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
Is this a range (oven and top mounted cooking elements) or a countertop style with cooking elements only?
Oven/range.
tripower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2009, 07:40 PM   #5
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,975
Default

Finding Amp rating of old stove


1980's whirlpool range would take a 40 amp 120/240 volt branch circuit. Most likely 3 wire but be sure if it is that the range is properly bonded to the metal frame at the neutral terminal. There is also 4 wire so be sure what you have. Is the cord on the range 3 prong or 4 prong....if it has one??
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Receptacle Rating question KE2KB Electrical 19 12-20-2008 06:20 PM
Receptacle Rating question KE2KB Electrical 5 12-18-2008 05:36 PM
Coal Stove Hood Devil505 HVAC 1 12-06-2006 05:32 PM
Three electricans said it was impossible! Tom Electrical 35 04-29-2006 05:06 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.