Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-30-2008, 10:28 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 44
Share |
Default

Fill plates for circuit box?


I have some unused breaker in the panel and like to take them out and cover it with fill plates. It is SquareD QO panel but the ones I found for them seems narrower. Even their own. It might be due to older panel.
What is the other solutions I have or are there universal ones that I can find?
Thanks.

ptcamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2008, 08:36 PM   #2
Union Electrician
 
goose134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 615
Default

Fill plates for circuit box?


Quote:
It is SquareD QO panel but the ones I found for them seems narrower.
Are you saying that the insert is too narrow for the opening? Or too short to bridge the gap that is the length of the breaker? If it is too narrow, try another kind, perhaps a Homeline blank. Those breakers are wider than QO and may help to fill the gap. The length shouldn't be a problem, but if it is, let us know.

Also, I'm sure you know this but a two pole breaker requires two blanks.

goose134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2008, 08:55 PM   #3
Floor Sweeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central MN
Posts: 353
Default

Fill plates for circuit box?


I think I know exactly what he is talking about. I also found that the new QO filler blanks are not as long as the slot is wide in the older panels. The tabs on the blanks do not keep the blanks from falling out.

The HOM and QO blanks are the same length.
junkcollector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2008, 09:32 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 44
Default

Fill plates for circuit box?


Quote:
Originally Posted by junkcollector View Post
I think I know exactly what he is talking about. I also found that the new QO filler blanks are not as long as the slot is wide in the older panels. The tabs on the blanks do not keep the blanks from falling out.

The HOM and QO blanks are the same length.

Exactly, they are short. It is good for the main which has slightly shorter openings.
There has to be another solution to this. Any? What can I do to close?
Thanks.
ptcamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2008, 08:18 AM   #5
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,528
Default

Fill plates for circuit box?


Just leave the breakers in the panel and label them as "spare".
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2008, 02:46 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

Fill plates for circuit box?


Quote:
I have some unused breaker in the panel and like to take them out and cover it with fill plates


Uhhhhh.....why?


I'd much rather have a breaker securely in place than blanks that fall out when you take the cover off. I HATE panel blanks.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2008, 02:53 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 264
Default

Fill plates for circuit box?


Sounds like another amazing use for....

perpetual98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2008, 08:37 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 44
Default

Fill plates for circuit box?


Quote:
Originally Posted by perpetual98 View Post
Sounds like another amazing use for....

No , I would not do that. not with electrick.
Leaving the brakers in and labeling them blank sounds good in this case.
ptcamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 08:12 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 264
Default

Fill plates for circuit box?


Quote:
Originally Posted by ptcamaro View Post
No , I would not do that. not with electrick.
It was my April Fools joke of the day.
perpetual98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 01:12 PM   #10
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Default

Fill plates for circuit box?


Quote:
Originally Posted by ptcamaro View Post
Leaving the brakers in and labeling them blank sounds good in this case.
Not to nitpick, but label them spare. That is a universal electrical term understood by the next guy who looks. Leaving them in is a good idea.

jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sheetrock mud...how big a gap will it fill? analogmusicman Building & Construction 2 02-23-2008 07:53 PM
Gaps in drywall. What to use to fill them in. yummy mummy Building & Construction 13 01-02-2008 12:19 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.