Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-24-2011, 10:50 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

Feeding the First Receptacle from Service Panel


I'm building a detached garage. The new Service Panel will be laid between studs.

I want to run 1/2" EMT horizontally to the first receptacle. What kind of EMT connector [EMT to SP] will pass inspection? Do I even need a connector? How about just using the connector without the setscrew?

[You can see, I only want to drill a 'minimal clearance' hole through the stud.]

Blackbeered is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 11:26 AM   #2
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 6,826
Default

Feeding the First Receptacle from Service Panel


Why do you need EMT? If you the walls will be covered with drywall, then you can run Romex. You only need to use EMT when the wires would be exposed and subject to damage.

If you were not planning on putting on drywall, I would highly suggest rethinking that idea. The reduction in dirt and dust alone is worth doing drywall.

__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 11:41 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

Feeding the First Receptacle from Service Panel


This is a set screw EMT connector. One on each end.
Attached Images
 
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 12:42 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 5
Default

Feeding the First Receptacle from Service Panel


JV,

It's that pesky little set screw I'm trying to avoid. [And If I leave the set screw off, even though the conduit isn't going to be moving side-to-side, I'm not sure I haven't compromised ground continuity by letting the conduit 'flop around' in it.]

Let's say I'm coming out of the left side of the SP ... thru a knockout and a 3/4" hole thru the stud. I was wondering if there's an EMT "barb" or other code-approved connector that'll allow me to slip in the conduit rather than the type you show.
Blackbeered is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 02:04 PM   #5
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 698
Default

Feeding the First Receptacle from Service Panel






this is a 'compression' EMT connector. more expensive but should fit in a smaller area. although the set screw doesnt protrude very far past the connector anyway
Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Techy For This Useful Post:
Blackbeered (11-24-2011)
Old 11-24-2011, 02:30 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 5
Default

Feeding the First Receptacle from Service Panel


I'm gonna assume that fitting will accept 1/2 rigid conduit [and isn't for watertight flex].
Blackbeered is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 05:54 PM   #7
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 698
Default

Feeding the First Receptacle from Service Panel


1/2" GRC(rigid) no, but yes it will work for 1/2" EMT
Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 09:54 PM   #8
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,406
Default

Feeding the First Receptacle from Service Panel


Just drill the hole below the panel and bend a 90 on the conduit.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 06:24 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 5
Default

Feeding the First Receptacle from Service Panel


... I've got what I need. Please consider "the case closed".

Blackbeered is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
200 amp panel w/100 amp service PirateKatz Electrical 8 12-26-2009 03:42 PM
Upgrade Service Panel - Do I need a new meter? El Kati Electrical 6 08-11-2008 07:35 PM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 03:03 PM
main service panel ptcamaro Electrical 9 03-30-2008 09:58 PM
Basement receptacle under service panel mekanic Electrical 2 05-12-2006 05:41 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.