Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-15-2012, 02:28 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Feeder Cable Question


I'm running a feeder cable 90ft. to my stand alone shed and i'd like to have access to roughly 50amps max. If i run 4/3 aluminum feeder wire, will that be sufficient? I've heard that there is loss with aluminum wire, so i'm just making sure i can actually use this cable.

This is the cable i was thinking of using: http://www.platt.com/platt-electric-...px?zpid=280732

Here is the alternative in copper: http://www.platt.com/platt-electric-...px?zpid=157928

PumpedUpKicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 03:11 PM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Feeder Cable Question


You can't run quadplex right to the panel. You have to connect it like you see most overhead services. So you would most likely need acouple mast heads and some fusible links to do the job. Cable price is much lower but its going to be a lot more work for you than if you just run an underground pipe and single conductors in it. Some areas homeowners aren't allowed to run it so I would look into that as well.

Nm I didn't check the links. I thought you were talking cable with a messenger line.

__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 03:31 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,049
Rewards Points: 500
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Feeder Cable Question


The link you have says 4/0 not #4. Not sure if you just have that for illustrative purposes but, I don't think mobile home feeder cable is available smaller than #2. You may have to go with single strands.

PS. You damn sure don't want to pay $3.66/ft. for 50 amps
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 06:28 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Feeder Cable Question


I found a local place that will sell me aluminum 2-2-2-4 wire for $1.67/ft. This basically eliminates my question. I won't have to worry about getting enough amperage with 2 gauge. Apparently like you pointed out, $3.67/ft. was a little high. This place has some killer pricing for things.
PumpedUpKicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 07:04 PM   #5
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Feeder Cable Question


Use this calculator to help you determine feeder sizes. Wire Size Calculator

__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Broken feeder cable? Ninjaman Electrical 11 03-10-2012 05:35 PM
Question: Had a short circuit - burned through cable tpagel Electrical 13 10-04-2011 08:53 AM
SubPanel wiring question TexasRedNeck Electrical 11 01-03-2011 08:04 PM
SOOW cable usage question CAD Electrical 10 10-16-2009 11:33 PM
Nuetral from feeder cable to main panel question? TW Lucas Electrical 14 05-08-2008 11:33 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.