Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-02-2009, 12:29 PM   #1
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Blog Entries: 2
Share |
Default

Feed Sub Panel From Sub Panel


HI,

One more quick question , Is there anything that restricts me from feeding the garage sub panel from a sub panel in the house?

In other words, is there any reason that I have to make a home run to the SE for the feed to the garage or can I feed it off of the sub panel? (the sub panel is a 4 wire feed connected via EMT to the SE).

Thanks
Jamie

__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2009, 12:42 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

Feed Sub Panel From Sub Panel


Sure, you can feed another sub from the one you have. Same rules. 4 wires. Neutral and grounds seperated. But you already know that.

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2009, 12:48 PM   #3
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Feed Sub Panel From Sub Panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
Sure, you can feed another sub from the one you have. Same rules. 4 wires. Neutral and grounds seperated. But you already know that.
Great, thanks. I just wanted to make sure there wasn't anything I was missing.
I know there are some special rules that require a run directly to the SE if romex is used in some cases. I didn't think that applied to runs of THHN, but wanted to make sure.

Thanks for the confirmation
Jamie
__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2009, 12:22 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

Feed Sub Panel From Sub Panel


I know of no such rules. Additional sub panels are used all the time to extend the capabilities of the existing main or sub panels.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Garage Wiring issues jimmyfloyd Electrical 20 06-08-2009 02:57 PM
200 amp feed thru panel leroy Electrical 4 01-30-2009 12:28 PM
Replacement Meter Panel leonard_voet Electrical 19 04-09-2008 10:27 AM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 03:03 PM
turn main panel into a sub panel? tikicarver Electrical 2 01-24-2008 07:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.