Federal Pioneer: Upgrade 24 Circuit To 32 - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-23-2011, 01:07 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Federal Pioneer: Upgrade 24 Circuit to 32


Hey guys,

First post in this forum, but we currently have a 100 AMP 32 Circuit Federal Pioneer Stab-Lok Panel.(CP1024)

It has the exact same dimensions as the 32 Circuit(CP1032). It just looks to have a separate panel cover and is missing the guts to plug additional breakers into.(It just has plastic slots minus the conductor points.

Has anyone had any luck keeping the existing box and just upgrading the guts?

Thanks,

Justin

Advertisement

jkurtenbach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 03:23 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,159
Rewards Points: 534
Default

Federal Pioneer: Upgrade 24 Circuit to 32


If you could buy just the guts(i doubt you can) you probably end up paying just as much if not more then the price with the guts and panel. There the same dimensions because they probably use the same tub for both the 24 space and 32 space panel but with different guts.

Are you running out of room in your panel, is this why you are asking. If so why not install a sub panel.

Advertisement

darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 09:40 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Federal Pioneer: Upgrade 24 Circuit to 32


If they both use the same enclosure, swapping the guts should be no problem.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 11:48 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Federal Pioneer: Upgrade 24 Circuit to 32


Thanks guys,

I am not particularly worried about the cost of the actual parts. as it is less than $100 for the actual panel. My worry is more around the time involved to pull and re-run the wires.(It has very short leads, so could be tricky to get a new in) My thoughts were the following could basically be done...but I could be wrong:

1) Disconnect Main Service.
2) Pull all breakers(but leave hot wires connected).
3) Run new bus-bars and stab lock connector parts.
4) Disconnect the Neutral Wires from the Neutral Bus Bars and install new ones.
5) Have inspector check work and turn main service back on.

As far as the subpanel, the reasoning for not doing so is as follows:
1) I want to run subpanel to my garage at a late date, and running multiple will make it messy.
2) I don't have the available slots to run a subpanel without relocating some of the existing wiring)

Thanks guys,
jkurtenbach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 05:25 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: KC Metro
Posts: 44
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Federal Pioneer: Upgrade 24 Circuit to 32


Federal Pioneer? Is that Federal Pacifics brother? I haven't heard of that one.
Sine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 05:35 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Western suburbs, Chicago, Il.
Posts: 2,693
Rewards Points: 2,064
Default

Federal Pioneer: Upgrade 24 Circuit to 32


Have you done a "google" search on "Federal" - "Federal Pioneer"?
"Stab-lok"
See what you come up with.

rossfingal
rossfingal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 05:40 PM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: KC Metro
Posts: 44
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Federal Pioneer: Upgrade 24 Circuit to 32


Quote:
Originally Posted by rossfingal View Post
Have you done a "google" search on "Federal" - "Federal Pioneer"?
"Stab-lok"
See what you come up with.

rossfingal
Yes, I found it. I've heard of stab-lok. I just though he meant Federal Pacific. I guess it was mostly used in Canada from what I found.
Sine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 05:53 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Western suburbs, Chicago, Il.
Posts: 2,693
Rewards Points: 2,064
Default

Federal Pioneer: Upgrade 24 Circuit to 32


"Sine"
I wish they were only in Canada - not that I would ever wish "misfortune"
on the good people up North.
We've got "Federal" products installed here (Breaker Panels") -
Oh goody!


rossfingal
(They go by a number of names "Pacific", Pioneer" and others)
"Stab-Lok" don't work too good!
rossfingal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 06:12 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Western suburbs, Chicago, Il.
Posts: 2,693
Rewards Points: 2,064
Default

Federal Pioneer: Upgrade 24 Circuit to 32


Here's something to check out -
http://inspectapedia.com/fpe/fpe.htm

RF
rossfingal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 06:14 PM   #10
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,159
Rewards Points: 534
Default

Federal Pioneer: Upgrade 24 Circuit to 32


Federal Pacific and Federal Pioneer are two different companies, but they still have the stigma of not wanting to trip on overload.

Federal Pioneer is made by Schenider Electric, which also makes Square D, and just recently they changed there name to stab lock.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 08:58 PM   #11
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,388
Rewards Points: 3,570
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Federal Pioneer: Upgrade 24 Circuit to 32


Schneider Electric actually load center inserts for converting a fusible center to a breaker center.

http://www.schneider-electric.ca/can..._range_id=7252



Advertisement

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dispute: Oven malfunction after h/w guys used the circuit rational Appliances 18 05-17-2011 11:37 PM
Wiring a single pole switch into a 220v circuit rlmorgan Electrical 38 10-15-2008 08:59 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts